"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Psychothermia Announces "Fall To The Rising Sun" Album Details

Psychothermia's debut album "Fall To The Rising Sun" will be dropping on February 8th, 2013. "We kept seeing other bands using fake fire in their photos and videos, we just thought it would be bad-ass to do it for real," says guitarist Jon Russo.

Real is right. A stunt legend, an exhausting weekend, and a lot of burnt clothing later they walked away changed... the fumes may have proved inspiring. With the easy part over, the band headed into the studio to really let loose. An indescribable energy lurks within the four members and is released in songs like the title track "Fall To The Rising Sun."

"Stay one step ahead of yourself; stay one step ahead of the competition; always strive to better yourself... and if you don't, you fall to the rising sun. Fate will catch up with you," timely words from singer Johan Maldonado as he explains the meaning behind the title.

Personal experiences play a large part in the writing found on the album, and nowhere is this more apparent than "Warbly." Bassist Chenzo Vidalez explains "I'm all about family and being loyal to friends. This song is about a deep betrayal. I was on a motorcycle trip where I caught a friend in a lie... tension escalated and it got to the point where I feared for my life. My instincts kept telling me if I stayed there someone was going to die."

"One of my favorite tracks to jam live is 'Anarchy'," notes Mike. "It has a massive driving feel to it with galloping rhythms, and the build-up is just epic." A song that was originally inspired by distant uprisings of the oppressed, it features the voices of children chanting "Anarchy!" in the anthemic bridge section and choruses. While on the surface the song may seem political, the deeper meaning behind the track is not so vile. "Anarchy is far from what the name depicts... the song is about being an individual and finding your voice," says Johan.

"Fall To The Rising Sun" was self-produced and recorded in the band's home studio (Control Volume Studios) as well as engineered by the band members themselves. With the exception of "Anarchy," which was mixed by the notorious Fred Archambault (producer/engineer, Avenged Sevenfold), all the songs were mixed by guitarist Jon Russo. "I'd wake up after 15 hours in the studio, with my ears hurting, and have to go in and do it again... all while working around my jobs," says Jon.

The album's track listing is as follows:

1. Fall to the Rising Sun
2. Warbly
3. Slash and Burn
4. Anarchy
5. Don't Look Back
6. Here's to the Angels
7. Crazy X
8. The Wrath
9. Straight Faced
10. Orlando
11. Self Inflicted Wound
12. The Fight

 photo psychothermcov_zps21a8b53b.jpg

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Psychothermia Announces 'Fall To The Rising Sun'"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.