"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Bornholm Reveals New Album "Inexorable Defiance" Details

Bornholm, which signed to NoiseArt Records during the summer, has now announced a new album titled "Inexorable Defiance" is due out in January. NoiseArt comments on the band:

"Ambitious, melodic, majestic - Bornholm is the grown up version of Dimmu Borgir! The band from Hungary play a great brand of pummelling melodic black metal, which utilizes all the hallmarks of the style and also adds some unique touches to the genre. Some call the band 'Bathorys heirs,' and they are not wrong! The band sounds like Bathory 2.0, like an advancement of the Swedish pagan metal legend. Bornholm don´t deny this influence - quite on the contrary, and therefore you can find a cover version of Bathorys 'Valhalla' as a bonus track on the forthcoming album.

"In 2001 the first Bornholm demo was released called 'Awakening Of the Ancient Ones' and an exciting journey has begun through the dark aeons. Their first full-length album called '...On The Way Of The Hunting Moon' came out in 2005, which made their name known all over Europe. They opened up in the past years for Arcturus, Mayhem, Enslaved, Green Carnation in Hungary and played at the biggest festivals of the country. The second opus was released in 2009 with the title 'March For Glory and Revenge.' An atmospheric and beautiful video was made for the song 'Dreams Of Ages' from the album in 2010. Their track 'Where The Light Was Born' was released at MTV RockBand Network and it is the first straight-up black metal song in any rhythm game ever. In 2011 they started to work on the 3rd full-length album called 'Inexorable Defiance' which will be released via NoiseArt Records early 2013."

Bornholm singer/guitarist Sahsnot comments about the new album: "I started to work on the album around 2008, I didn`t hurry with it because the release of the previous album was losing and we had time to do it. We wrote a couple of songs, almost twice more than there will be on the album, but I felt this was the right list and these were the best songs. The new album is a journey. About a very painful and sparkling period of my life. I used different things to meet the transcendent at it is a dangerous play. Not every lyric is personal but the intuitions and the strange things that happened through this period are in the music and in the lyrics too.

"There are a lot a of splendors in the tracks, but sometimes very fast and monumental. Some parts are more progressive - but I don't like that word. It's all about the world, the ruler of the mind from a pagan man's point of view. I can not say so much about it because it's too fresh. I have to understand a lot of feelings too, the people will be surprised that's for sure, but I guess now we found the right way."

The "Inexorable Defiance" album will be released on January 25, 2013 via NoiseArt Records. The album will be available as limited digibook including 2 bonus tracks. Pre-order the album over here. Bornholm will also embark on the Paganfest tour with Alestorm, Arkona, Thyrfing and others in February / March 2013.

The album's track listing is:

1. Fear Of Wonders
2. Swordbearer
3. Flaming Pride And Inexorable Defiance
4. Walk On Pagan Ways
5. Archaic Pale Visions
6. Throne Of Crows
7. Moonlight Wanderer
8. Equinox
9. The Spiral Path
10. Fiery Golden Dawn
11. Towards The Golden Halls
Bonus Tracks:
12. Feast of Fire
13. Valhalla (Bathory Cover)


What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Bornholm Reveals New Album Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.