"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Porcupine Tree Bassist Announces New Project "Burnt Belief"

Photo of Porcupine Tree

Band Photo: Porcupine Tree (?)

Bassist Colin Edwin (Porcupine Tree, Metallic Taste of Blood, Ex-Wise Heads) and guitarist/composer Jon Durant have revealed the cover art and track list for their upcoming progressive instrumental collaboration "Burnt Belief."

The duo will unleash "Burnt Belief" on December 21st, 2012 through Alchemy Records. It will be available on iTunes, CDBaby, Burning Shed and Amazon. An audio teaser is available below, and the track listing is as follows:

1. Impossible Senses
2. Altitude
3. Prism
4. Bathasar's Key
5. Uncoiled
6. Semazen
7. The Weight of Gravity
8. Arcing Towards Morning

The following press release was also issued about the collaboration:

"Burnt Belief marks the second time that the two musicians have worked together since Edwin contributed bass to Durant's 2011 release Dance of the Shadow Planets. It was recorded at three studios, two in the U.S. and one in the U.K., with Edwin and Durant exchanging digital files over the Internet. Additional musicians were later brought in, with Jerry Leake ('Cubist,' Natraj, Club d'Elf) on percussion and Geoff Leigh (Ex-Wise Heads, Henry Cow, Hatfield and the North) on flute.

"Perhaps best described as a post-rock concept album, Burnt Belief draws from ethnic, ambient and electronic elements to create a cohesive and emotional album, inspired by a fundamental, universal question. The album considers the polarization between religion and science, while highlighting the dissonance between belief and reality. Burnt Belief deals with issues of intellect, fundamentalism and fanaticism, set to an ambient and progressive aural landscape.

"Blending electronic rhythms and acoustic elements, the musicians wove soundscapes from unique sources - synth, 12-string and cloud guitar textures, melodic fretless bass, prepared piano and Middle Eastern hand percussion - along with searing lead guitars, to tell a series of instrumental stories. Burnt Belief takes the listener on an immersive journey, with repeated listens revealing new layers and tones to the depth of the subject. While the album is intended to be a complete experience, the centerpiece comes with the dual attack of 'Balthazar's Key' and 'Uncoiled,' just over 20 minutes of compelling sounds that, according to Durant, 'kick enough booty to make anyone sit up and take notice.'

"The title of the album was inspired by Edwin's reading of social psychologist Leon Festinger's When Prophecy Fails, an account of a doomsday UFO cult in the 1950s. According to Edwin, 'It got me thinking, what are all beliefs really about and where do they come from?' - a question that Durant had also been interested in for some time."

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Porcupine Tree Bassist Announces New Project"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.