"some music was meant to stay underground..."

"Nemesis" Artwork & Track List Unveiled By Stratovarius

Fnnish symphonic metal act Stratovarius, which announced the new LP "Nemesis" yesterday, unveiled the album's artwork and track listing (shown below). The album will come as a standard 11 track edition along with a special edition with two additional bonus track and the album is set to drop on February 22, 2013 via earMusic.

Guitarist/producer Matias Kupiainen commented: “I have more or less lived in the studio for four months, obsessing over every detail. I feel very relieved that we are done and I am very happy with the material and the sound."

Vocalist Timo Kotipelto added: “Making the album this time was easier because we gave it as much time as it needed. We have worked our asses off to make this and we hope the fans will like it."

According to the press release: "The album has it all. From the typical melodic and powerful Stratovarius sound in 'Abandon,' to the aggressive and energetic 'Stand My Ground,' the album represents the new style of the band mixed with good old melodic power metal. Stratovarius' musical approach is today wider and richer than ever. The song 'Fantasy' sounds almost ABBA-esque with its catchy pop tune, but it´s powered by the famous Stratovarius metal sound, louder than ever. 'Out Of The Fog' integrates some folk music elements, with lyrics telling the story of a young person forced to march blindly into battle. The only ballad on the album, 'If The Story Is Over,' is a very emotional song with a grand arrangement that builds up to using the full band and ends with a small female choir.

"The title track 'Nemesis' is a typical Stratovarius song, with echoes of medieval melodies with powerful double bass drumming and the catchy pop melodies from this side of the millennium."

Kotepelto commented on the title track: "The title track of the album; with its modern twist on the myth of Nemesis, it tells a story of a preacher who gives each one what they deserve, good or bad. The song has a very nice riff, cool melodies and a great good old Stratovarius style chorus."

The first single, "Unbreakable," will be released on January 25, 2013 as a special EP. A preview clip and more info on the EP can be found at this location.

The track listing for "Nemesis" is as follows:

1. Abandon
2. Unbreakable
3. Stand My Ground
4. Halcyon Days
5. Fantasy
6. Out Of The Fog
7. Castles In The Air
8. Dragons
9. One Must Fall
10. If The Story Is Over
11. Nemesis

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Stratovarius Unveils 'Nemesis' Artwork, Track List"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.