"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Emerald Night To Release New Album "King Of Elves" Next Month

The new album "King of Elves" from Moscow symphonic black metal act Emerald Night will be released by year's end through Musica Productions. The following press release was issued about the album:

"The theme for the album's title track served as an old ballad 'Der Erlkonig,' written by Johann Wolfgang von Goethe in 1782. The plot is familiar to everyone from childhood: in a dark forest at night the galloping horseman's late with a young son and the boy hears the voice of the forest king who wants to kidnap him. In Russia, this work is called - 'Forest King.' The most famous translation is from Vasily Zhukovsky, and there are also versions of Grigoriev, Fet and others. Emerald Night appealed to the source and presented their vision of Goethe's ballad. The song combines bright and impetuous music to create a truly enchanting atmosphere.

"King of Elves is the logical continuation of the predecessor album 'Mirror of Trolls' and full of a mysterious theme of fantasy. Style has not changed - it is the same melodic sympho black with clear influence of folk. There are frequent changes of mood - rapid black metal melodies alternate with crystal tinkling streams and voices of forest fairies. The album has the sounds of luxurious women's voices (Runa and Darrana), complemented by three black metal scream-characters.

"As with the previous album, the vocals are shared between Dismael and Wsegard, also joined by Demether Grail - longtime vocalist and leader of Arcane Grail. The album becomes a real musical theater, where all the images are so realistic that you can even feel their breath!

"Also on the album you can hear the guitars and clean vocals of Arsafes (Kartikeya), the master of studio Arsafes Records. Cooperation with such a high level musician allowed Emerald Night to create a really strong release. The musical component of the album mixed up on shimmering polyphonic guitar melodies."

The track listing is:

1. King of Alder
2. Drema
3. Heart of Queen
4. Rune of Victory
5. Night Symphony
6. Tristan from the Ice
7. Werewolf (Oboroten)
8. Berserker
9. Demonism 2010 (bonus)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Emerald Night To Release New Album 'King Of Elves'"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Jenny's avatar


1. Jenny writes:


# Nov 28, 2012 @ 10:05 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
OverkillExposure's avatar


2. OverkillExposure writes:

Also yes!

# Nov 29, 2012 @ 1:24 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.