"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Thinning The Herd Finishes New Album "Freedom From The Known"

New York-based Thinning The Herd announces the completion of the band's new studio full-length, which will be liberated into the general population before the end of the year. The following press release was issued about the album:

"Over the Summer, the band shacked up with studio guru Steven Albini to harness the newest tunes for what will be the metallic doom/rock act’s third studio effort. Entitled 'Freedom From The Known,' the ten-song crusher features an entirely new and improved Thinning the Herd lineup, revamped once again by founding member Gavin Spielman and now including drummer Rick Cimato (ex-Locked In A Vacancy) and bassist Wes Edmonds.

"An act constantly striving to not be pigeonholed as 'another doom band,' the newest material reflects more of the members’ blues and NYHC influences, though the presence of classic doom metal and 90’s grunge/sludge influences still shine through, and alien life forms, motorcycles, ego death, higher consciousness, transcendentalism and racism are just a few of the issues touched upon lyrically. Freedom From The Known is due out in December on the band’s own Saint Marks Records as with their previous album and EP."

The track listing is:

1. Never Wanted
2. Dr. Reed
3. Sludge
4. Buildings
5. Rabbits
6. White Liver
7. Blood
8. Path of Gold
9. Gaikat Mountain
10. In Front Of Me

Thinning the Herd will take to the streets on an extensive tour in support of "Freedom From The Known" in early 2013, with more info to be announced soon.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Thinning The Herd Finishes New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.