"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Gene Hoglan Talks Dethklok's "Dethalbum III" Recording Sessions

Photo of Dethklok

Band Photo: Dethklok (?)

Drummagazine.com has conducted a new interview with legendary metal drummer Gene "The Atomic Clock" Hoglan (Testament, Death, Dethklok, Meldrum, Dark Angel). The interview focuses around the drum tracking and writing process Hoglan used on the upcoming Dethklok release "Dethalbum III." Excerpts from the interview follow, or you can read the full thing at this location.

Drum: What kind of patch-ups are you doing for Dethalbum 3?

Seeing that I track the songs the day that I learn them, usually I have some tiny transitional fills to do, or this time Brendan wanted me to try some different beats to match his new riffs. We’re writing songs on the fly. So as the songs progress we’ll play something different to match the new riffs. I rarely get to do that sort of thing but this time I did, so a few tiny little spots were fixed.

Drum: How do you learn a song and record it the same day? That’s unorthodox.

It is unorthodox. But I’ve had so many projects that are like that where the band or artist hands you the song and you play it. You need a large stockpile of fills that work and ones that you can cull from your mental brain trust of fills. Like, “Okay, I know in this style of music I have a bunch of fills that could work well.” Or the artist might say, “I am not feeling that fill,” so you access a different memory bank of fills. So then you try those. Option anxiety happens a lot when I work like this, usually it’s the people I’m working with saying, “Let’s try this or throw that up against the wall.” Sometimes it bogs down the session and it can make you real tired at the end of a long day.

Drum: So you’re tracking Dethalbum 3 and recording soundtrack material for Metalocalypse at the same time?

We’re doing the album version of the songs that appear on the new season, and a few songs that haven’t been aired yet. We’re also recording songs from the past season. We came in to do Dethalbum 3, which made me think we would be tracking songs from season three, but then Brendan said, “Who knows when we’ll get in the studio again, so let’s track songs from season four too.” Great.

"Dethalbum III" will hit stores throughout North America on October 16th, 2012 and has the following track listing:

1. I Ejaculate Fire
2. Crush the Industry
3. Andromeda
4. The Galaxy
5. Starved
6. Killstardo Abominate
7. Ghostqueen
8. Impeach God
9. Biological Warfare
10. Skyhunter
11. The Hammer
12. Rejoin

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Gene Hoglan Talks Dethklok Recording Sessions"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.