"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Germ Reveals New EP "Loss" Details

Photo of Germ

Band Photo: Germ (?)

Germ's latest EP "Loss," which follows the band's "Wish" album from last year, is set to drop on October 30th, 2012. The track listing and artwork can be viewed below. Germ was also covered in the genre-blending edition of our "Unearthing the Metal Underground" column. The following press release was issued about the upcoming EP:

"Begun as a solo project by Austere member Tim, Germ was conceived as early as 2003. The idea behind Germ was to create something that not only combined atmospheric black metal and rock - Tim has become known for with his love of classical, pop and electronic styles of music - but to create an image and visual aspect to accompany the music. In 2006, a three-song EP was recorded, but never released. One track from the EP, 'Raving Mad With Sadness,' was uploaded to Myspace, and to this day gains considerable praise. After this song appeared, things again fell silent.

"After almost three years of inactivity, where the focus was on other projects, Tim entered SLS studios in October 2009 to begin tracking for what was to become the debut full-length Germ album. However, not long after, Tim was again focusing on other projects, this time composing pop songs for various major labels and producers, as well as working as a session drummer for various bands; completion of the debut Germ album would have to wait. As of February 2011, Tim resumed work on the album, this time with the determination to see it through to the end. Tim’s continuing work as a composer and session musician have meant at times the progress has been slow, but finally the debut Germ album, Wish, was complete in the somber month September 2011 and finally saw a release through EISENWALD in March 2012.

"But that was just the beginning...following the critical acclaim afforded Wish, Germ returns with the even more stunning Loss. With a running time of over 36 minutes, Loss takes you on a trip from the very first notes. At once a continuation of the sound created on the debut album, as well as a giant leap forward, Loss means the next chapter in the musical evolution of Germ! For proof, preview 'So Lonely, Dead Lonely' below."

1. My Only Hope
2. So Lonely, Dead Lonely
3. Only When Every Timepiece In The World Is Smashed Part I
4. Only When Every Timepiece In The World Is Smashed Part II
5. Cold Grey Dawn (A New Beginning)
6. Loss

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Germ Reveals 'Loss' Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.