"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Pig Destroyer Posts New Lyric Video For "Burning Palm"

Photo of Pig Destroyer

Band Photo: Pig Destroyer (?)

Reigning grindcore champions Pig Destroyer have unleashed the first song from new album "Book Burner." The track entitled "Burning Palm" is available as a lyric video below. "Book Burner," the band's fifth full-length and first album in over five years was recorded at guitarist Scott Hull's Visceral Sound Studios. The album will see a October 22nd release via Relapse Records and features 19 tracks with a return to the band's raw, misanthropic sound.

In support of "Book Burner," Pig Destroyer will be making special appearances at various festivals and shows throughout the year, including Calgary's Noctis Fest, the UK's Damnation Festival, The Metal Sucks/Metal Injection CMJ Showcase, Decibel Magazine's 100th Issue Anniversary Show and Maryland Deathfest 2013. A full list of dates is included below.

The album's track listing is:

Disc 1: Book Burner
1. Sis
2. The American's Head
3. The Underground Man
4. Eve
5. The Diplomat
6. All Seeing Eye
7. Valley of the Geysers
8. Book Burner
9. Machiavellian
10. Baltimore Strangler
11. White Lady
12. The Bug
13. Iron Drunk
14. Burning Palm
15. Dirty Knife
16. Totaled
17. Kamikaze Heart
18. King of Clubs
19. Permanent Funeral

Disc 2: "Blind, Deaf, and Bleeding" (Deluxe Editions Only)
1. Depression (Black Flag)
2. Wolfs Blood (Misfits)
3. Lights Out (Angry Samoans)
4. Can't Tell No One (Negative Approach)
5. Deny Everything (Circle Jerks)
6. Betray (Minor Threat)
7. Who Are You? (Void)

Sept. 28 Calgary, Canada Noctis Fest
Oct. 18 Brooklyn, NY MetalSucks/Metal Injection CMJ showcase @ Public Assembly
Oct. 19 Baltimore, MD Ottobar (w/ Royal Thunder) Tickets (CD Release Show)
Nov. 1 Brighton, UK The Haunt
Nov. 2 London, UK The Garage
Nov. 3 Leeds, UK Damnnation Festival
Jan. 19 Philadelphia, PA Union Transfer w/ Municipal Waste, Repulsion, Tombs
May 23 - 26 Baltimore, MD Maryland Deathfest XI4

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Pig Destroyer Posts New Lyric Video"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Demoncleaner23's avatar


1. Demoncleaner23 writes:

I don't see why people pop a boner over these dudes. I guess I just don't get it. This video makes me like them even less before I could understand their lyrics.

# Sep 14, 2012 @ 1:47 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
silvermountains's avatar


2. silvermountains writes:

Never been bonerfied by this band, to me nothing more but average grind core band

# Sep 14, 2012 @ 2:15 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
RememberMetal?'s avatar


3. RememberMetal? writes:

I can probably address your confusion, as this is the first song from PxDx that I've found underwhelming in some time. Their albums "Prowler in the Yard" and (especially) "Terrifyer" were unique in their intensity among grind bands. This was owed in part to the shrill and unhinged-to-the-point-of-disconcerting vocals of J.R. Hayes. There were also thrashy flourishes on recent albums that had worked quite well previously but seem less impressive here.

PxDx historically, as with their genre, just aren't for most people. That said, Converge did it better with "Jane Doe" on all fronts but PxDx had a lot of promise.

While I enjoyed the instrumental performances on "Burning Palm" the subdued vocals and bland lyrics are an unfortunate development...

# Sep 14, 2012 @ 7:54 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.