"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Katatonia Streaming Entire New Album "Dead End Kings"

Photo of Katatonia

Band Photo: Katatonia (?)

"Dead End Kings" (reviewed here), the ninth album from Sweden’s Katatonia, is now available in North America via Peaceville Records. The follow-up to 2009’s "Night is the New Day" can be purchased online in a multitude of formats and bundle packages via Omerch or on iTunes. Katatonia was also recently covered in our Sunday Old School column here.

Fans can get a free preview of Dead End Kings this week on Exclaim.ca, where the record is streaming in its entirety at this location. The album's track listing is:

1. The Parting
2. The One You Are Looking for is Not Here (with Silje Wergeland)
3. Hypnone
4. The Racing Heart
5. Buildings
6. Leech
7. Ambitions
8. Undo You
9. Lethean
10. First Prayer
11. Dead Letters

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Katatonia Streaming Entire New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

RememberMetal?'s avatar


1. RememberMetal? writes:

Tried and true Katatonia from start to finish.

This one has a bit more of the "Great Cold Distance" feel to it, though it's still tempered by lingering influence from "Night is the New Day". They continue to push away from anything even remotely heavy or even metal into something more prog/shoe-gaze/melancholy.

Good stuff if you fancy anything by Porcupine Tree, Steven Wilson's 2 solo albums, Opeth's 'Damnation' album, Riverside or even Storm Corrosion.

# Aug 29, 2012 @ 11:43 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. metaljus writes:

dude new album is soooo killer. really like how each album always sounds different from the last. definitely picking this album up, fukken great atmosphere on all the tracks, cant wait till they tour here in LA

# Aug 29, 2012 @ 4:49 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.