"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Periphery Posts Final Track-By-Track Explanation For "Masamune"

Periphery's Misha Mansoor has now issued the following final track-by-track breakdown for the "Masamune" track off new album "Periphery II:"

"This is the end of the 'Trilogy' on the album and this song was originally demoed in Mauritius when I was on vacation. I remember being in a particularly good mood and wondering why all my heavy riffs had to be so dark, and I decided to try to write something a bit 'happier' sounding. And that is how I Soundclick demo known as 'The Moonstar.' Again this idea felt incomplete to the band and I, and I didn't want to work on it until I could take a really good stab at it, and I ended up writing the rest of this song on a retreat. Even if the other guys aren't writing, I definitely like having them there to oversee things and get their opinion on my ideas and where the song/arrangement is heading. I wanted this song to have a Jekyll/Hyde kind of arrangement so that it could end on a dark note to really contrast the upbeat and happy first half, and the doomy middle section ended up being a good way to bridge the two halves of the song.

"When we started writing the trilogy, we realized that we could arrange this song to be not only the end of the song but the end of the album, especially as the second riff of this song is a reference to the second riff of Muramasa, and lyrically it worked perfectly for what was going on in the story. Spencer ended up taking a very different approach to this song which caught me off guard at first, but once I started understanding what he was going for I realized that he knew exactly what he was doing. I think for everyone else in the band, this song was the 'take it or leave it' song, but I was the one really gunning for it. When it all came to life in the studio and had Spencer's complete ideas, I think it quickly became one of our favorites, and on a lot of days it is my favorite song on the album.

"Originally, I had planned a different ending for this song where it would go back to a prettier riff from earlier on after the groove at the end, but the rest of the guys were adamant about having the song fade out on a heavy riff. I was reluctant at first, but then i toyed with the idea and realized that their idea was indeed better. A lot of people think that because of the end riff in the song that the song is played in a weird tuning or on an 8 string. In actuality it is a 7 string in Drop Ab as usual, but for the very last riff, we detuned the guitars and bass at random to get a huge sludgy sound. Presumably we will just do that when we play this song live as well. I think this song would be a great way to close a set!"

The album's track listing is:

1. Muramasa
2. Have a Blast - Guthrie Govan guest solo
3. Facepalm Mute
4. Ji
5. Scarlet
6. Luck as a Constant
7. Ragnarok
8. The Gods Must Be Crazy!
9. Make Total Destroy
10. Erised (Feat. John Petrucci Guest Solo)
11. Epoch
12. Froggin' Bullfish
13. Mile Zero (Feat. Wes Hauch Guest Solo)
14. Masamune

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Periphery Posts Final Track-By-Track Explanation"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.