"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Periphery Posts Track-By-Track Breakdown For "The Gods Must Be Crazy"

Periphery has been releasing a new track-by-track breakdown every day for the new album "Periphery II." Periphery's Jake Bowen has now issued the following explanation of the song "The Gods Must Be Crazy:"

"Back when we were discussing the possibility of Mark joining Periphery, I was really trying to get a feel for his style of riffing and the result was The Gods Must Be Crazy! Misha came up with the opening riff and it starts off with a bang sounding like Opeth on steroids. As for the verse riffs, it's basically chaining together a lot of chord shapes and arpeggios rapidly to make this complete idea. I was really happy with how Spencer handled the chorus, the melody always sticks with me."

Misha Mansoor also commented, "Sometimes I have what I like to call 'retreats' where I'll have a few members stay at my place for a few days, and we just write as much as we can in that time. It has always been a successful way to bring riffs to life because we can just focus on writing and nothing else. This song was a retreat song.

"As Jake mentioned, we were definitely going for a Mark kinda vibe on this song. It's interesting because a lot of people think that Mark wrote this song, but it was based off of Jake's riffs actually! I am so lucky to have two guitarists in my band who have very specific 'voices' that I absolutely love, and they definitely influence and inspire me. Mark has such a unique approach to the guitar that i would just describe as playful and colorful, so that was definitely the feel that Jake and I were going for on this song. I vibed off of his riffs and just wrote parts that i felt would help the arrangement flow nicely and fluidly. When the verse riff comes back, I thought it would be fun to switch between straight and triplet feel on the drums, and Matt really brought that idea to life, that plus the short but ever so sweet solo Jake wrote makes that one of my favorite moments of this album. This song was a bit different from our usual fare, and I didn't really know how appropriate it would be for the album until Spencer wrote his vocal lines for it. Once I heard his ideas, I went from liking the song to loving it and that chorus line he wrote would get stuck in my head before he even finalized the full melody or lyrics. This is just a good example of a song that started out decent, and just got better and better with everyone's input!"

The album's track listing is:

1. Muramasa
2. Have a Blast - Guthrie Govan guest solo
3. Facepalm Mute
4. Ji
5. Scarlet
6. Luck as a Constant
7. Ragnarok
8. The Gods Must Be Crazy!
9. Make Total Destroy
10. Erised (Feat. John Petrucci Guest Solo)
11. Epoch
12. Froggin' Bullfish
13. Mile Zero (Feat. Wes Hauch Guest Solo)
14. Masamune

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Periphery Posts Track-By-Track Breakdown"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.