"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Periphery Posts Track Breakdown For New Song "Ji" Off Latest Album

Periphery recently released the new album "Periphery II," and guitarist Misha Mansoor has been posting a series of breakdowns for each track. You can read the previous explanation of "Have A Blast" here, and Misha had this to say about the song "Ji:"

"I have owned 8 strings for a while now, but I have found it hard to write with them for 2 reasons. One, it's pretty hard to escape the Nothing era Meshuggah sound, because that is what that range is offering you, and those notes are so low that you can't move around too much, or it all gets lost. Two, I just couldn't figure out a tuning that was inspiring and that would also work well given that anything below an F# is really pushing what you can hear on the bass if you want to maintain the octave relationship of the guitar and bass.

"Funny enough, it was tuning my 8 string to standard that opened up a world for me given that most of the time I'm in dropped tuning. The first few riffs of this song just came out of nowhere while i was watching TV and jamming, and the chorus was a rather strange progression but it worked in an Extolish kind of way. Thinking back, I remember thinking that Spencer was going to have to do something interesting over that chorus because it just didn't sound like it was going to end up being very melodic, at least not in a traditional sense. In actuality, he ended up writing one of my favorite choruses of the album over that section, and it ended up being surprisingly catchy.

"Following that section, I wanted to try something a bit different, I wanted something where the bass would be carrying the rhythm and melody, and the 3 guitars could focus on pretty clean layers and outlining chords that fit the mood I wanted, and ended up with a rather interesting progression. After demoing the song, I told Mark I wanted that section to repeat, but with a rhythm line that kinda just went off, almost like a 'rhythm solo,' and boy did he go to town on that!

"That whole middle section only got better with Spencer's vocal ideas, and I think that is personally one of my favorite moments on the new album, and it covers some ground that Periphery hadn't previously explored. I also think that writing this song opened up a lot of ideas on how an 8 string can be effectively used in a way that a downtuned 6 or 7 string cannot, and I am extremely happy with how this song came out. On a lot of days, it is my personal favorite from this album."

The track listing for "Periphery II" is as follows:

1. Muramasa
2. Have a Blast - Guthrie Govan guest solo
3. Facepalm Mute
4. Ji
5. Scarlet
6. Luck as a Constant
7. Ragnarok
8. The Gods Must Be Crazy!
9. Make Total Destroy
10. Erised (Feat. John Petrucci Guest Solo)
11. Epoch
12. Froggin' Bullfish
13. Mile Zero (Feat. Wes Hauch Guest Solo)
14. Masamune

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Periphery Continues Track Breakdown Of New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.