"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Brokaw Announces Summer Tour Dates

Seattle-based quartet Brokaw has confirmed several Summer performances where the band will unleash noise-rock antagonism upon the attending audiences. The following press release has been issued about the shows:

"Noisemongers Brokaw are regionally-infamous for their raging live performances, where the mic stand frequently invades the audience's turf as much as the stage, while the band pummels the room with oppressively amplified riff mayhem. The band have just confirmed several hometown galas for the Summer months, including a Good To Die Records-sponsored afterparty for the city's annual Capitol Hill Block Party on July 21st, as well as a support slot for local badasses Black Breath and Red Fang on August 8th. More shows will be announced in the coming weeks as the details are confirmed.

"Led by Seattle rock lifers G. Stuart Dahlquist, Mike Henderson, Rick Troy, and Rich Medic, Brokaw is one of a breed of new groups that are paying heed to the mean, masculine sound of '90s rock outfits like the Melvins and Hammerhead. They meld that pounding attack with the rumble of drone metal like Sunn O))) and the fury of hard rockers like Goatsnake (both of which Dahlquist has spent time with both on stage and in the studio). Mix in the influences of freeform jazz a la Miles Davis in the '70s and the winking post-punk of The Fall and you get a sound unlike any other in the heavy rock world today.

"Brokaw's debut full-length Interiors was recorded by Greg Norman (Pelican, Russian Circles) at Electrical Audio, the Chicago-based studio built and run by Steve Albini. A vital blast of fierce, literate rock, it's a record that manages to bridge the sometimes cavernous divide between lovers of experimental, post-punk sounds and the fist pumping, devil horn flashing fans of metal."

You can stream Brokaw's entire "Interiors" LP online via Bandcamp or catch the group live on the following shows:

7/21/2012 Comet Tavern - Seattle, WA @ Capitol Hill Block Party after-party w/ Monogamy Party
8/10/2012 Neumos - Seattle, WA w/ Red Fang, Black Breath
10/06/2012 Seattle Weekly REVERB Festival - Seattle, WA

The "Interiors" track listing is as follows:

1. Ambulance Red
2. Berlin Heart
3. No Morphine Doctor
4. Politicians by the Pool
5. Terms of War
6. The Slide
7. Time Ain’t Now
8. You Didn’t Invent Sex

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Brokaw Announces New Live Shows"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.