"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Waylander Releasing "Kindred Spirits"

Freshly mastered at the Finnox studio in Finland (Children of Bodom, Nightwish), Irish folk metal band Waylander is releasing its brand new and fourth full-length album "Kindred Spirits" on July 16th (EU) and August 14th (North America). The band gave an in-depth commentary about the lyrics for album's the two first songs - "Echoes of the Sidhe" and "Lamh Dearg," which follows below before the tracklisting and cover art for Waylander's "Kindred Spirits."

"Echoes of the Sidhe" - Deals with the enduring fascination in Celtic countries with the Sidhe/the Fairy folk/Tuatha De Danann, which has survived the coming of Christianity as well as the modern age of enlightenment. The belief in the old Gods and the existence of higher plains of existence has endured and will continue to do so.

"Lamh Dearg" - Meaning red hand, the symbol of the northern province of Ulster of which N. Ireland makes up two thirds. For the first time since our debut demo, the conflict in N. Ireland is used as subject matter for one of our songs. This song is about love for the land which transcends politics, where the land itself is sacred while mankind is merely the custodian for the generations to come. Concentrate on what unites us, as it's a lot more than people have knowledge off due to a blinkered mindset. In effect this song is a modern pagan perspective on the conflict we have endured.

1. Echoes of the Sidhe
2. Lámh Dearg
3. Twin Fires of Beltíne
4. Of Fear and Fury
5. Grave of Giants
6. A Path Well Trodden
7. Quest for Immortality
8. Erdath
9. Kindred Spirits


What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Waylander Releasing Fourth Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.