"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Crystal Viper Comments On Upcoming Album "Crimen Excepta"

One of Poland's top contemporary traditional metal acts, Crystal Viper, is prepared to release "Crimen Excepta" on April 24th via AFM Records, the band's fourth full-length album to date. The following press release was also issued by the band:

"Welcome to the world of Crystal Viper: a world full of Flying Vs, tube amps, leather and chains. The band's powerful old-school sound runs deep with influences hailing from Mercyful Fate, Warlock and Iron Maiden, yet with a dark thrash edge born of Nifelheim persuasion at times, all fueled by frontwoman Marta Gabriel, her commanding vocals akin to Chastain's Leather Leone with a touch of Doro Pesch.

"The follow-up to 2010's acclaimed Legends full-length, Crimen Excepta is a concept album about holy inquisition, black magic and witches, where fiction mixes with historical facts. Recorded with producer Bart Gabriel (Jack Starr's Burning Starr, Sacred Steel, Mortician), Crimen Excepta is inarguably Crystal Viper's darkest and most aggressive material to date. Bringing more of their personal black and death metal influences to the table, even bringing in guest members such as Hell vocalist David Bower who appears on the album's title track, as well as Vader's Piotr 'Peter' Wiwczarek to record a cover of the Vader classic 'Tyrants Of Hell' for a bonus track to the album. Additionally, Crystal Viper recorded 'Ghosts Of Sherwood' -- a theme song for the forthcoming 3D cinema horror movie Robin Hood: Ghosts Of Sherwood -- which also appears as a bonus track to the album.

"As with previous Crystal Viper works, the cover art for Crimen Excepta was painted by legendary French artist Chris Moyen, known from his cooperation with acts such as Slayer, Trivium, Beherit, Blasphemy and more." Check out the opening track from the album, "Witch's Mark," in the player below.

The "Crimen Excepta" track listing is as follows:

1. Witch's Mark
2. Intro 1
3. Child Of The Flame
4. Intro 2
5. It's Your Omen
6. Intro 3
7. Crimen Excepta
8. Intro 4
9. Medicus Animarum
10. Intro 5
11. The Spell Of Death
12. Intro 6
13. Hope Is Gone, Here's New Law
14. Intro 7
15. Fire Be My Gates
16. Intro 8
17. Tyrani Piekiel
18. Ghosts Of Sherwood

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Crystal Viper Comments On Upcoming Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

1. Cynic writes:

Ok, wow that was great. Crystal Viper's debut is a great slab of metal and it's sounding like this might match it, also the vocals in this are top notch! What a set of lungs.

# Apr 12, 2012 @ 5:45 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.