"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Barren Earth Streaming New Song "As It Is Written"

Photo of Barren Earth

Band Photo: Barren Earth (?)

After previously premiering three new songs online through Metalunderground.com, Finland’s face of progressive death metal, Barren Earth, has teamed up with The A.V. Club to premiere a fourth new track.

The song “As It Is Written,” from the band’s impending sophomore release, "The Devil’s Resolve," is now available for streaming here. "The Devil’s Resolve" will hit stores next week, on March 13th, via Peaceville Records and the track listing is as follows:

1. Passing Of The Crimson Shadows
2. The Rains Begin
3. Vintage Warlords
4. As It Is Written
5. The Dead Exiles
6. Oriental Pyre
7. White Field
8. Where All Stories End
9. Martyrs of Devotion (Special Edition)
10. World in Haze (Special Edition)

Mixed by Dan Swanö (Opeth/Katatonia) at Unisound, "The Devil’s Resolve" continues with all the trademarks one has come to associate with Barren Earth: brutal riffs, gloomy growls, majestic melodies, as well as acoustic and progressive passages. But this time the band has delved even deeper, taking this sophomore effort to the extremes through musical landscapes encompassing brutal death metal, doomy vocals, trippy 70’s prog. lunacy, pastoral passages and even bagpipes. For more of Barren Earth, check out the band's recently posted music video for "The Rains Begin" at this location.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Barren Earth Streaming New Track Online"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

ZMA's avatar


1. ZMA writes:

I gotta listen to some more of this band but "As It Is Written" totally did it for me. Interesting band.

# Mar 8, 2012 @ 2:15 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.