"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Dark Empire Streaming New Song "The Crimson Portrait"

Photo of Dark Empire

Band Photo: Dark Empire (?)

New Jersey's Dark Empire is returning to the scene with a third release this March entitled "From Refuge to Ruin." Noisecreep.com is now hosting an exclusive premiere of a track from Dark Empire's new album. The song entitled "The Crimson Portrait" can be heard here. The following press release was also issued about the band:

"Dominating through the intricate songwriting are powerful new vocalist Brian Larkin (who replaces Jens Carlsson of Persuader and Savage Circus fame) and the commanding riffs of lead guitarist/main songwriter Matt Moliti, who also lends a chilling death vocal counterpoint to Larkin's leather-throated melodic lines. In addition to Moliti's elaborate guitar work and Larkin's attention- grabbing vocals, Dark Empire features the deep resonance of bassist Randy Knecht and the 'Dave Lombardo-meets-Gavin Harrison' drumming of session player Matt Graff.

"Not being ones to repeat themselves, Dark Empire has injected fresh new influences into their follow up to their 2008 release 'Humanity Dethroned.' Taking a cue from 70's prog masters such as Genesis and King Crimson, Dark Empire inventively utilize vintage Mellotron and Hammond Organ samples throughout the album, as well as delicate 12-string acoustic interludes and haunting, atmospheric melodies (coming to full fruition in the powerfully epic title track). This is not to undermine the push Dark Empire has also made in the heavier end of the dynamic spectrum, now utilizing seven-string guitars, crushing doom metal moments, and blistering death metal-inspired riffs. For older fans, these new elements serve to compliment, not overshadow, the band's thrashy progressive metal roots, and the 13-minute-plus dark and doomy album closer 'The Cleansing Fires' serves as a musical culmination of the broadened range of styles found throughout.

"With pristine and powerful production from Jeremy Krull and artwork by Gustavo Sazes (Arch Enemy, Firewind, Morbid Angel) along with fresh creative input and exceptional talent, Dark Empire will surely become the new cross-over favorite for any metal fan."

The track listing is as follows:

1. A Plague in the Throne Room
2. Dreaming in Vengeance
3. The Crimson Portrait
4. Dark Seeds of Depravity
5. From Refuge to Ruin
6. Lest Ye Be Judged
7. What Men Call Hatred
8. Black Hearts Demise
9. The Cleansing Fires

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Dark Empire Streaming New Song"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Tivic's avatar


1. Tivic writes:

I can't wait to hear the whole cd when it comes out.

# Feb 17, 2012 @ 7:27 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.