"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Heidevolk Reveals "Batavi" Album Details

Photo of Heidevolk

Band Photo: Heidevolk (?)

Heidevolk will release the new album "Batavi" on March 2nd, 2012 via Napalm Records. The label issued the following statement about the album:

"Hediveolk now deliver their heaviest, most aggressive and powerful album to date: 'Batavi.' The band travels 2,000 years back in time to an era in which numerous Germanic tribes struggled for dominance against the Roman Empire in Northwest Europe, along the shores of the river Rhine. Caught in the middle of it all were the Batavians: the protagonists and namesakes of HEIDEVOLK's latest album.

"'Batavi' is a concept album that deals with the early history of the Batavian tribe: from its beginnings to its daring revolt against one of the greatest empires the world has ever seen. Set against the backdrop of war, alliances, intrigue, and betrayal, the nine songs relate the struggle of a people needing to redefine themselves in order to survive this turbulent time.

"While HEIDEVOLK's musical path continues to explore traditional pagan metal, it proves to be much more resolute and aggressive than ever before. The characteristic clean sound of both Heidevolk vocalists recounts the stories comprising 'Batavi,' while heavy guitars, thundering drums, and folk melodies build the foundation of each track: at times sweeping and at others melancholic. Peter Tägtgren's mix has masterfully defined the band's sound on this 2012 release. 'Batavi' catapults the listener directly onto the northwestern European battlefields of the Roman Empire."

The track listing is as follows:

1. Een nieuw begin
2. De toekomst lonkt
3. Het verbond met Rome
4. Wapenbroeders
5. In het woud gezworen
6. Veleda
7. Als de dood weer naar ons lacht
8. Einde der zege
9. Vrijgevochten

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Heidevolk Reveals 'Batavi' Details"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Tivic's avatar


1. Tivic writes:

I can't wait to hear the new cd, when it comes out.

# Feb 16, 2012 @ 9:11 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
OverkillExposure's avatar


2. OverkillExposure writes:

It's pretty good!

# Feb 16, 2012 @ 11:04 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.