"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Opera Diabolicus Reveals "+ 1614" Album Details

Opera Diabolicus will be releasing "+ 1614" on February 28th via Metalville Records. The band commented on its history and sound:

"Opera Diabolicus is the brainchild of composer/musician David Grimoire and lyricist Adrian de Crow. The idea sprung to life when the two of them met randomly at a stage play of Umberto Eco's book The Name of the Rose at a theatre in Gothenburg in 2006. Both of them were very intrigued by the story and they ended up talking about how interesting it would be to make a theatrical and dark metal musical based on that kind of a story. The conversation between them that took place in Gothenburg that bleak December night planted the seed that soon should grow to be the concept of Opera Diabolicus - The concept of combining the dark elements of music and theatre in alliance with musical excellency.

"The music could be described as dramatic and dark doom metal with atmospheric, epic and progressive elements. If you're into bands like Candlemass, King Diamond, Mercyful Fate, Memento Mori, Therion, Notre Dame, Dimmu Borgir and Kamelot this is definitely the band for you to keep your eye on.

"The upcoming album features among others; Snowy Shaw, Mats Levén, and Niklas Isfeldt on vocals, daemonic voices and ghoulish sounds. Snowy Shaw has also contributed with his well known drums of doom which gives yet another warranty of quality to the music. The album is produced and mixed by none other than Andy LaRocque at his Sonic Train Studio."

The track listing is as follows:

1. Overture
2. The Gates
3. Bloodcountess Bathory
4. The 13th Guest
5. In Memoriam
6. Mythos Lamia
7. Forbidden
8. Stone by Stone

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Opera Diabolicus Reveals Album Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.