"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Outcast To Release New Album "Awaken The Reason" Through Listenable

Listenable will be releasing French act Outcast's third album "Awaken the Reason" in late February 2012. According to Ouctast, "'Awaken the Reason' is the band's strongest/most solid recording so far and it genuinely captured the band's musical madness. A modern sounding yet organic production spiced up by some frenzy extreme guitar and drums assaults!"

The band further comments:

"'Awaken the Reason' was recorded between January and September 2010 at The artist The Office Studio. It was mixed at SplitSecond Sound Studio By Jochem Jacobs (Textures) in October /November 2010 and then mastered at West West Side Music by Alan Douches (Mastodon, Dillinger Escape Plan). The album was composed between 2006 and 2009 mixing various influences among Steve Vai, Gojira, Dream Theater, Devin Townsend, Textures and Sikth.

"Our main goal was to stay away from traditional death music and produce a progressive album with personal signature. Eighty percent of the album was composed by Nicolas but everyone was at work to improve melodies and songwriting. That's why the album sounds like a concept album even if it's not. This way of thinking music mixed with several approaches of riffing and soloing constitute in our opinion the main guideline and would confer strong marks to the listener. So our minds were opened and focused on originality using old and new references in the whole metal industry."

When asked about how different this new album is compared to their previous full lengths, the band answered:

"The more obvious difference between Awaken The Reason' and Self Injected Reality, our previous album, is the production which gives more space and organic feelings to the composition. The composition and songs themselves are more coloured and progressive, more subtle in the ambiances are not just full-rooted in death metal."

A new teaser trailer for the album can also be heard below.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Elements
2. Abysmal
3. A Solace from the Shade
4. Awaken the Reason - Part IV : When dawn brings clarity
5. Spin Angular Momenta
6. Unspoken
7. Isolation
8. Fallen Years
9. What Would be my Final Commitment ?
10. Man's Last Failure
11. Awaken the Reason - Part XI : Reprise

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Outcast To Release New Album Through Listenable"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.