"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Trent Reznor's "The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" Soundtrack Details Revealed

Photo of Nine Inch Nails

Band Photo: Nine Inch Nails (?)

Details of Trent Reznor and Atticus Ross' soundtrack for "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" has been released. The soundtrack is the follow-up to their Oscar-winning score for The Social Network.

Here's the update from Reznor on NIN.com:

For the last fourteen months Atticus and I have been hard at work on David Fincher’s “The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo”. We laughed, we cried, we lost our minds and in the process made some of the most beautiful and disturbing music of our careers. The result is a sprawling three-hour opus that I am happy to announce is available for pre-order right now for as low as $11.99. The full release will be available in one week - December 9th.

The soundtrack is available in several formats: regular and high quality digital downloads, released December 9, a triple CD released December 27, and a deluxe package that will ship February 6. The deluxe version features six LPs, a book, a fold-out poster, and a USB drive shaped like a razor blade and it is signed by Reznor and Ross.

The download is up for pre-order on iTunes now. Those pre-orders get their cover of Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song" (featuring Karen O) instantaneously. Also, iTunes is streaming an eight-minute trailer for the film.

Reznor will self-release the soundtrack on his own Null Corporation imprint in North America, while Mute will release it internationally. You can download a free six song sampler from the soundtrack from Null Corporation (by providing your email address).

All preorders of The Girl with the Dragon Tattoo Soundtrack include an instant download of the free 6-track sampler.

Here's the track listing for "The Girl With the Dragon Tattoo" soundtrack:

1. Immigrant Song (Led Zeppelin cover) [featuring Karen O]
2. She Reminds Me of You
3. People Lie All the Time
4. Pinned and Mounted
5. Perihelion
6. What If We Could?
7. With The Flies
8. Hidden in Snow
9. A Thousand Details
10. One Particular Moment
11. I Can't Take It Anymore
12. How Brittle the Bones
13. Please Take Your Hand Away
14. Cut Into Pieces
15. The Splinter
16. An Itch
17. Hypomania
18. Under the Midnight Sun
19. Aphelion
20. You're Here
21. The Same as the Others
22. A Pause for Reflection
23. While Waiting
24. The Seconds Drag
25. Later Into the Night
26. Parallel Timeline With Alternate Outcome
27. Another Way of Caring
28. A Viable Construct
29. Revealed in the Thaw
30. Millennia
31. We Could Wait Forever
32. Oraculum
33. Great Bird of Prey
34. The Heretics
35. A Pair of Doves
36. Infiltrator
37. The Sound of Forgetting
38. Of Secrets
39. Is Your Love Strong Enough? [Bryan Ferry cover]

"The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo" opens on December 21st in the US.

Here's the movie trailer featuring the cover of Led Zeppelin's "Immigrant Song."

In other recent covers, Nine Inch Nails provided a cover of U2's "Zoo Station" for Q Magazine's tribute to the "Achtung Baby" album, which you can hear here.

Source: Pitchfork.com

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Trent Reznor's Latest Soundtrack Details Revealed"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Arnian writes:

This still looks like a crap version of this movie, but from what I've heard of the music in the other trailers, it could be worth picking up this soundtrack.

# Dec 6, 2011 @ 1:29 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. b.bristowe writes:

Hi, I am Trent Reznor, I am just taking a break from giving you free music.

# Dec 6, 2011 @ 1:42 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
psythe's avatar

Writer, Reviewer

3. psythe writes:

^Haha - Hi, Trent. I'm me. Not complaining, bring on the free music! :D

# Dec 6, 2011 @ 4:45 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.