"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Beyond The Bridge Signs With Frontiers Records, Debut LP Due January 2012

Photo of Beyond The Bridge

Band Photo: Beyond The Bridge (?)

German progressive metal band Beyond The Bridge signed with Frontiers Records. The band's debut will be a rock opera entitled "The Old Man And The Spirit" and is scheduled for release on January 20, 2012 (EU) and January 24, 2011 (North America).

Frontiers Records provided the following information on the band and the debut release:

" 'The Old Man and the Spirit' is an ambitious concept album dealing with the polarity of human sensuousness and superhuman awareness. Two main characters interpret the music on this theatrical and challenging record: 'the Spirit', who is the personification of all wisdom and awareness that is unachievable to mankind but that lacks of the ability to feel, and her opponent 'the Old Man': a bon vivant who has lived through all highs and lows of human sensations. These two characters are interpreted by the two band singers: a female Dilenya Mar and a male Herbie Langhans.

"But the operatic and cinematic setting of the album was put together by the two bands’ masterminds: guitar player Peter Degenfeld and the classically trained ivory tinkler Christopher Tarnow. 'From the beginning it was our intention to do an album presenting one big piece of music' tells Degenfeld. 'One of the very first things that came about were the two characters together with the basic content of the story. Basically before the notes were written, we knew what each song had to sound and feel like and what the lyrics had to say. With these restrictions we started the songwriting process. In the end writing songs under these self-imposed limits turned out to be just great'.

"While 'The Old Man and The Spirit' is undoubtedly a demanding musical statement, Beyond The Bridge are determined to make their steps to bring their music on tour. 'We put a lot of effort into the goal of creating the studio sound on stage and we have already rearranged some parts to make them more suitable for live performances', explains Degenfeld.

"Beyond The Bridge line-up is rounded up by bass player Dominik Stotzem, Fabian Maier on drums and Simon Oberender on keyboards and guitar. Simon also took care of the album production at the famed Gate Studios (owned by the famed producer Sascha Paeth, who mastered the album).

"While at first listen the album will easily appeal to the Progressive Rock/Metal audience, thanks to the virtuosity displayed in the playing and the compositional design, the album can be easily enjoyed by all who are looking for songs that can excite the listeners. 'The music is touching. It will even touch you in a different way each time you listen to the album', concludes Peter Degenfeld. 'The lyrics are inspiring and ambiguous. This encourages to dig deeper into the spiritual journey of the 'Old Man'."

"The Old Man and the Spirit" will contain the following tracks:

1. The Call
2. The Apparition
3. Triumph Of Irreality
4. The Spring Of It All
5. World Of Wonders
6. The Primal Demand
7. Doorway To Salvation
8. The Struggle
9. The Difference Is Human
10. Where The Earth And Sky Meet
11. All A Man Can Do

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Beyond The Bridge Signs With Frontiers Records"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.