"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Dark Spectrum To Release "Whisper" Album As Free Download

"Whisper," the new album from Chicago metallers Dark Spectrum, will be released for free download on November 22nd via Bit Torrent and the band's official Reverb Nation page. The CD was recorded at Apothica Studios in Batavia, Illinois. Joe Tiberi of Mechina once again handled production and recording duties, as well as the mixing and mastering.

The track listing is as follows:

1. Whisper
2. The Soil Is Shour
3. Perplexed In Chaos
4. Sociopath
5. Blood Of The Lambs

Commented Dark Spectrum bassist Thatcher Markham: "We had a full blown concept for an album cover but it had to be scrapped for two reasons, contractual obligations and money. We disbanded and wanted to release the album for free but the fact that we weren't going to sell it went against the contract signed with the artist. So what you see, this isn't what it was meant to be, but it serves its purpose. Fitting that this was the last photo ever taken of us as a band.

"All the time, effort, work, heart, and soul, to just let these songs disappear and fade away without a release of any sort is just completely unacceptable to us. Even though we will probably never be a band again the four of us are extremely proud of what we wrote and recorded. At this point its just about getting the music out there for free to anyone that wants it and about closure and solace for us.

"People allegedly don't pay for music anymore anyway, so consider this an offering out to the metal world so to speak.

Commented Dark Spectrum lead guitarist Dennis Franco: "Although the band did not go as far as it could have, I feel as though I am entirely 100% accomplished with the album. The album itself is the biggest reward to me that came out of this journey with DARK SPECTRUM.

Dark Spectrum also released a video for the single "Perplexed in Chaos" back in May 2011, which can be viewed at this location.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Dark Spectrum To Release 'Whisper' As Download"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.