"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Trillium Signs With Frontier Records, Debut LP Detailed

Trillium, the new project featuring Amanda Somerville (Epica, Kiske-Somerville, Aina), has signed with Frontier Records. The band will debut on Frontiers Records with the album "Alloy" on November 1, 2011 (North America) and November 4, 2011 (EU).

Frontiers Records issued the following press release:

"Frontiers Records is pleased to announce the release of “Alloy”, the anticipated debut album from Trillium the new Metal Project masterminded by American Singer Songwriter Amanda Somerville on November 4th in Europe and November 1st in North America.

" 'Alloy' is an album that's charged with emotion and exploration and a very personal statement from Amanda and certainly the listener can enjoy very different musical atmospheres on the album 'Since I'm an eclectic and diverse person and musician, that certainly comes out in this album' says Amanda. 'I think that the diversity is what is going to set this album apart from other stuff that's out there right now. It's got big choruses and epic symphonic hits, guitar solos you could imagine being played on a mountain top with an aerial camera view, but it's also got a lot of soul added to the raise-your-fists-in-the-air-and-make-a-mean-face vibe'.

"Musically Trillium melts Rock and Metal in a new, interesting and different way from anything Amanda has worked on so far. 'Alloy' is also graced with the talents of several musicians with whom Amanda had the honor of working in the past. Sander Gommans (ex After Forever, HDK) and Sascha Paeth (Kamelot, Avantasia, Epica, After Forever etc) were the main songwriters together with the American singer on this album. They have brought a lot to the project and have certainly allowed the sound to be a lot richer and stronger.

'Sander is all around an awesome songwriter and guitar player, and he's especially good at coming up with riffs and movements of a song, while Sascha is a fantastic producer who can play any instrument there is - and play the hell out of it - and his sense of songwriting is really strong!' tells Amanda.

"Other contributing musicians include Miro Rodenberg who did all of the orchestral and keyboard arrangements, Robert Hunecke on drums, Olaf Reitmeier on acoustic guitar, Simon Oberender on keyboards (and mastering). But more surprises are on this record: 'Working with Mat Sinner on Kiske-Sommerville established a solid professional relationship and I also found a good friend in him' says Amanda. 'We co-wrote 'Love Is An Illusion' together for this album and it was a pleasure working with him once again!'

"And last, but in no way least, Jorn Lande has lent his epic voice to the song 'Scream It.' Ms. Somerville tells the story: 'I actually wrote that song with Jorn in mind not for his status in the scene, but because I absolutely love his voice, he's a wonderful friend of mine through working together on Avantasia and he was the perfect 'actor' to play the character in the song. And he nailed it!'

"With touring plans in Europe in the first quarter of 2012 and a rousing excitement surrounding Trillium, you can bet the world is finally ready to enjoy the talents of one of the most interesting, creative and gifted singers and songwriters of today’s entire Rock scene."

“Alloy” will be exclusively released as a digipak cd and will include the following songs:

1. Machine Gun
2. Coward
3. Purge
4. Utter Descension
5. Bow To the Ego
6. Mistaken
7. Scream It
8. Justifiable Casualty
9. Path of Least Resistance
10. Into The Dissonance
11. Slow It Down
12. Love Is An Illusion (Bonus Track)

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Trillium Signs With Frontiers Records"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.