"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Samples From Upcoming Opeth Album "Heritage" Available For Streaming

Photo of Opeth

Band Photo: Opeth (?)

30 second song samples from the forthcoming new Opeth album "Heritage" have been posted online for streaming. The album is set to be released on September 20, 2011 through Roadrunner Records and will feature the following track listing;

1. Heritage 2:05
2. The Devil's Orchard 6:40
3. I Feel The Dark 6:40
4. Slither 4:03
5. Nepenthe 5:40
6. Haxprocess 6:57
7. Famine 8:32
8. The Lines In My Hand 3:49
9. Folklore 8:19
10. Marrow Of The Earth 4:19

You can check out the song samples for all of the regular edition tracks over at this location.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Song Samples From New Opeth Album Posted Online"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. OJK writes:

Heard most of the new songs in full just today. Most of it is pretty mellowed out but they've changed to a much more accessible sound. This isn't just the acoustic ballads of Damnation either. Its very heavily influenced by 70's classic rock and there some pretty over the top moments that remind me of everything from King Crimson ("I Feel The Dark"), Frank Zappa (the drums on "The Lines In My Hand"), and the very jazzy "Folklore".

"Famine" is one of the more doomier sounding tracks on here and its new in style for Opeth but more of the modern doom metal. The flute ending may through some for a loop but given how plenty of other metal bands have experimented with flutes and choirs, this shouldn't be surprising.

This is more accessible Opeth while at the same time challenging the older fans who know them for the heavy stuff. Not to say there aren't any heavy moments, they're just pulled off in a different way that fans will have to get used to.

# Sep 2, 2011 @ 11:54 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
TheRaper's avatar


2. TheRaper writes:

i'm too drunk to figure out how to play those damn songs, i'm sure they're alright

# Sep 2, 2011 @ 12:37 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.