"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Neurosis To Reissue "Sovereign" EP With Bonus Track

Photo of Neurosis

Band Photo: Neurosis (?)

Following the recent reissues of some of Neurosis' most seminal earlier albums -- "Souls At Zero" and "Enemy Of The Sun" -- Neurot Recordings is now prepared to unveil the details on the next installment of this reissue series, with a new pressing of the band's "Sovereign" EP.

Originally unveiled in 2000, the "Sovereign" EP was the first Neurosis release issued through the band's own then newly-founded Neurot Recordings, with the vinyl pressing handled by Hydra Head. In chronological terms, Sovereign served as a millennial segue between two of the band's full-lengths of that era; 1999's "Times Of Grace" and 2001's "A Sun That Never Sets."

The Neurot Recordings CD reissue includes a previously unreleased fifth track, with the inescapably feedback-tormented hymn "Misgiven" closing out the reissue, added as a special bonus to this repressing of the recordings. The reissue comes bound in an O-Card/jewel case setup like the other recent Neurosis reissues, with artwork completely redesigned and updated by Aaron Turner.

The reissue of "Sovereign" will be released in North America on September 12, 2011. The cover artwork and track listing can be viewed below.

1. Prayer
2. An Offering
3. Flood
4. Sovereign
5. Misgiven* [newly released track]

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Neurosis To Reissue 'Sovereign' EP"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.