"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Mercenary Reveals New Album Cover And Tracklisting

Danish power metal band Mercenary has revealed the front cover artwork for their forthcoming new studio album, "Metamorphosis." You can check it out below. Speaking on the album the band issued the following statement:

"We're very proud to be able to present our new cover for our upcoming album, Metamorphosis, as well as a brand new Mercenary logo!

"There's of course a lot of obvious (and indeed slightly cheesy) self-referential symbolism regarding the rebirth of the band in the cover artwork. But apart from that we felt that the motive of a phoenix was a really fitting expression of many of René's lyrical themes on the album, as they deal with personal and existential crisis, overcoming personal obstacles and how we can sometimes redefine ourselves in the proces of taking responsibility for altering the conditions of our very lives. This idea of personal freedom can be a very frightening thought for some, but it's actually a message of hope and optimism - we can always take control of our lives and free ourselves of inner or outer constraints, or at least take pride in the struggle to do so. (Okay, dropping all the intellectual pretense, we just liked the artwork because it was freaking bird on fire - how cool is that!?)

"On a serious note, though, we also felt that a simple, raw and iconic visual theme would support the musical direction of the new album. We feel that the songs are our strongest ever, they're no-bullshit, focused and straight to the point, and our good friend Don G really nailed these concepts with his artwork.

"Finally, we have also been searching for a new logo for many years (also before the recent changes in line-up) but we never felt that we found a good enough alternative until now. With the direction of the new line-up and the new album, we not only felt that we had as good an occasion as any, but we also really liked the idea of a less polished, more raw logo which could reflect the changes in musical expression.

"Hope y'all dig it."

The band also revealed the tracklisting for the album, which is as follows:

"Through The Eyes Of The Devil"
"The Follower"
"In A River Of Madness"
"Velvet Lies"
"In Bloodred Shades"
"Shades Of Grey"
"On The Edge Of Sanity"
"The Black Brigade"

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Mercenary Reveals New Album Cover"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.