"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Just For Fun

2010 Christmas Metal Song Roundup

Photo of Gwar

Band Photo: Gwar (?)

Another Christmas is just around the corner, which means jolly fat men in red suits scaring the bejeesus out of crying children and uncomfortable dinners with family members who don't actually like each other. Christmas isn't just caroling and spiked egg nog though, it's also another opportunity to rock out with some metal steeped in the holiday spirit. We already gave Christmas the metal treatment with a list of the top 10 most metal light shows, as well a new edition of the Rockstar Ramblings describing what aging rockers really want to get under the tree. Slipknot front man Corey Taylor also recently posted a Christmas music video here. To keep December heavy, we've also rounded up a list of the 2010 Christmas and Anti-Christmas rock and metal songs available online.

First off is the 2010 edition of the Misantrof AntiRecords "Holy Fucking AntiChristmas" compilation, which features 15 punk, instrumental, and metal tracks tearing the most commercial holiday of the year a new one. You can stream or download the songs here, and the track listing is as follows:

1. 26z - SANTA BABY
2. Electronic Chaos – We Eat So We Kill
3. A Waste of Talent - THIS SHALLOW WORLD
4. Avvist – UVELKOMMEN
6. Ignotus – Existence Nihil
7. Paal Potet – Gjer Faen I Jul
8. The Small Penis Syndromes – Christmas Penis
9. Vrangsinn – Your Average Jesus
10. Ion Vader – Resist the NWO
11. Jesus Hitler One Man Gangbang Band – Jesus Der Nacht Der Welt
12. Glomb – Nachten
13. RH- – Lamb Song II
14. Phoebusnex – Stolen
15. Nierty – Ballistic Angel

Volume 2 of the "Holy Fucking AntiChristmas" compilation from 2009 is still available here and Volume 1 from 2008 can be found at this location.

Rising Christian metalcore act August Burns Red gives "Little Drummer Boy" the down-tuned post metal treatment via the band's MySpace page. Guitarist JB Brubaker commented on the cover by saying: "The song was recorded in drop A, which is much lower than we usually play. Recording the track was a lot of fun as I was able to incorporate a bunch of new sounds and techniques ABR has never used before like slide guitar, ukulele, and acoustic guitar. The icing on the cake was having Magnus Lindberg mix the track. Lindberg has done all the Cult of Luna albums, and I'm a huge fan of theirs so I was so excited to have him mix the track."

Winds of Plague checked in from the 2010 December Decimation with the following Christmas Special video clip:

Not to be outdone in the video department, the ever insane space rockers GWAR also recently decided to launch an all out assault on Christmas, which can be viewed the following clip:

EMBED-Christmas With Gwar - Watch more free videos

Athens, Georgia based melodic metal band Theocracy threw it's hat into the Christmas ring this year with a new song titled "All I Want For Christmas." You can check out the lyric video for the new song below.

U.D.O. front man Udo Dirkschneider launched a new Christmas single this year for "Jingle Bells," which was performed under the name Evil Disposition.

Showing that even farts have their place in the perfect holiday season, Texas death metal band Flatulated released a Christmas single titled "God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen." The song can be streamed or downloaded for free Reverbnation.

British crossover thrashers SSS have decided to spread some festive metal cheer this year by offering a song, titled "Merry ChristmaSSS," as a free MP3 download. You can grab the song at this location.

If you need even more metal in your holidays, you can always visit the ghost of Christmas metal past, as plenty of 2009 holiday songs are still available. The Nightmare Records free Christmas compilation from last year is available for download here. The track listing is as follows:

1. Bethlehem (5:51) - Theocracy - Mirror Of Souls
2. A Chosen Truth (7:19) - Edgend - A New Identity
3. Kings will Come" (4:02) - Narnia - Course of a Generation
4. Forsaken (6:54) - Futures End - Memoirs of a Broken Man
5. Sea of Tranquility (2:40) - Heart of Sun - Heart of Sun
6. One Silent Moment (4:32) - Cloudscape - Global Drama
7. Wicked Land of Winter (5:11) - Sacred Dawn - Christmas Single
8. Tears Of Pain (4:14) - Keith Miller - Over The Abyss
9. Silently We Fade (4:41) - Harmony - Chapter II: Aftermath
10. Fall from Grace (1:11) - Avian - Ashes And Madness
11. Spiritual Path (5:47) - Scelerata - Skeletons Domination
12. Believe (6:00) - Glass Spires - Glass Spires
13. The Harem-remastered (3:35) - Gemini - Gemini
14. In My Dreams (6:09) - Darkwater - Calling The Earth To Witness
15. Ancient song (5:39) - Dimension - EGO
16. The Chronicles of Jacob Marley (8:28) - Order of Nine - Christmas Single
17. Orchestration For More Than One Horn (0:36) - Evil Masquerade - Third Act
18. FireoftheAncients (5:27) - Defyance - Transitional Forms
19. You Give Me Love (5:49) - Grimmstine - Grimmstine
20. The Calm (5:59) - Perspective X IV - Shadow Of Doubt
21. Coming Home - remastered (6:28) - Gemini - Gemini
22. Shadow Of A Lucent Moon (7:22) - Andromeda - The Immunity Zone
23. Heaven’s Gate (5:20) - Six Minute Century - Time Capsules
24. From Now On (4:25) - Shining Star - Enter Eternity
25. Guitar Concierto (3:19) - Six Minute Century - Time Capsules

Also from last year, Erlösung posted video clips online for the songs "Black Metal Christmas - Carol of The Bells" and "Christmas ist Krieg."

There are likely many more Christmas or Anti-Christmas themed metal songs that were released this year. Feel free to share your discoveries or discuss your favorite Christmas metal tracks in the comments section below.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Christmas Metal 2010 Roundup"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. 74 writes:

Erlösung and all satanic band sucks.

# Dec 21, 2010 @ 10:05 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
EsotericSurgery's avatar


2. EsotericSurgery writes:

This is a fantastic writeup xF. Much appreciated!

FVCK Christmas! Move over Judeo-Christianity...the new super religion is in town! All hail Consumerism! :p

# Dec 21, 2010 @ 12:21 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
3. Armageddon writes:

f*** August Burns Red

# Dec 22, 2010 @ 5:35 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.