"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Desultory To Reissue Two Previous Albums Together With Bonus Tracks

Reunited Swedish death metallers Desultory will reissue deluxe editions of their "Into Eternity" and "Bitterness" full-lengths via Singapore's Pulverised Records. The albums were initially released via Metal Blade Records in 1993 and 1994 respectively. To commemorate these two offerings, both discs will be released together with bonus tracks from three "Desultory" demos circa '90 - '91. In addition, each record, originally produced by Sunlight Studio owner/producer Tomas Skogsberg, will be remastered by multi-instrumentalist/producer Dan Swanö at Unisound Studio in Sweden.

Said Swanö of the undertaking: "I've been remastering Desultory's demos and first two full lengths. The play time is more than 80 minutes! All the material has been restored to fit nicely together in the same playlist, and it's amazing how much a few small tweaks can change the overall sound from 'demo' to 'album.' A funny anecdote is that I 'forced' the band to go to the home of Tomas Skogsberg in the middle of nowhere and pick up the original DAT tapes of the demos. Maximum quality achieved!"

The front covers and inside booklets have all bean tweaked with a subtle redesign by Greek graphic artist Anestis Goudas of Derz Design (Rotting Christ, I.C.S Vortex, Shagrath etc.) and come with detailed liner notes by Terrorizer Magazine writer Olivier "Zoltar" Badin, with special assistance from Desultory frontman/guitarist Klas Morberg.

Commented Morberg: "When I wrote these lines in late September 2010, it was exactly 21 years since the Desultory journey began back in 1989. As we're now writing a new chapter in our history by releasing the new album, we would also like to tell the complete story of the past. We're really happy to be with Pulverised Records and are able to re-release these records, both brilliantly remastered by Dan Swanö. So, for all of you who've been with us from the start and anyone else who wants to know how it all began...Here it is. Enjoy!"

The "Into Eternity" track listing:

1. Into Eternity
2. Depression
3. Tears
4. The Chill Within
5. Visions
6. Twisted Emotions
7. Forever Gone
8. Passed Away
9. Asleep

The "Bitterness" track listing

1. Life Shatters
2. Left Behind
3. A Closing Eye
4. Taste Of Tragedy
5. Bleeding
6. Among Mortals
7. Enslaved
8. Winter
9. Cold Bitterness

Bonus Tracks:

"From Beyond" (Demo '90)
10. Eternal Darkness
11. The Awakening
12. Cease To Exist
13. Insanity

"Passed Away" (Demo '90)
14. Passed Away
15. The Chill Within
16. Death Unfolds

"Visions" (Demo '91)
17. Forever Gone
18. Depression
19. Visions

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Desultory To Reissue Previous Albums"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.