"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Woe Comments On Upcoming Album "Quietly, Undramatically"

Candlelight Records has announced October 12th as the North American release date for "Quietly, Undramatically," the new album from black metal act Woe. Recorded at Gradwell House in Haddon Heights, New Jersey with additional tracking completed at front man Chris Grigg's BS1 in Philadelphia, the album is the first to feature a full band ensemble comprised of members from Absu, Woods of Ypres, The Green Evening Requiem, Infernal Stronghold, and Rumpelstiltskin Grinder.

Formed in 2007, Woe originally began as a solo project of Philadelphia-based multi-instrumentalist Chris Grigg. Grigg commented, “Quietly, Undramatically is a major step forward for Woe. Not only is it our first release for Candlelight Records but the debut of Woe: the band as opposed to Woe: the solo project. The performances of Evan Madden (drums) and Shane Madden (bass) bring Woe to a whole new level. It is a much more mature album, featuring dynamics and ideas that Woe has never been able to tackle before. We are all very excited for this album's release and the subsequent live performances in support of it!"

The album reunites the band with designer/illustrator Justin Miller. "Justin and I have worked together on different projects for years now and he has never let me down. I consider his art an additional song on the album -- the most important song, the one that ties it all together. Sound is what I do, sight is what he does, and it is a relief to know that Woe's presentation is handled with such feeling."

Woe will celebrate the release with a free performance, along with label mates Krieg, at Philadelphia’s Kung Fu Necktie (1248 North Front Street) on October 28th. The track listing for the album is as follows:

1. No Solitude
2. The Road From Recovery
3. Quietly, Undramatically
4. A Treatise on Control
5. Without Logic
6. Full Circle
7. Hatred is Our Heart

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Woe Comments On Upcoming Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

RadioInOpposition's avatar


1. RadioInOpposition writes:

Interview with Chris Grigg of Woe at myspace.com/RadioInOpposition

# Aug 16, 2010 @ 8:50 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.