"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise


Metalunderground.com Premieres New Gwynbleidd Song, "Thawing Innocence"

Metalunderground.com is proud to offer an exclusive premiere of Brooklyn, New York death/black/folk/doom metal band GWYNBLEIDD's new song, entitled "Thawing Innocence." The song comes from Gwynbleidd's upcoming new album "Nostalgia," which is due out on October 27 via BlackCurrant Music. Check the song out right here:

Founded and based in New York City, Gwynbleidd is a band whose four members all hail originally from Poland. It is this experience -- leaving one’s homeland and relocating halfway across the world -- that served as the original inspiration for Nostalgia. Gwynbleidd guitarist/vocalist Maciej Kupiszewski explains:

“The concept for the album started with the theme of nostalgia -- memories of childhood and places left behind, influenced mainly by the fact that the members of the band all moved from Poland to the States in their early teens. Although the band is based in Brooklyn, New York, in the heart of the biggest city in the US, the music conveys a yearning toward primeval and pristine wilderness landscapes. We took this theme of nostalgia and developed a whole story around it -- a paradoxical tale of yearning, deceit, and treason.”

Gwynbleidd will be touring throughout 2010. In the past two years, the band has played across the US and Canada with the likes of Novembers Doom, Turisas, Kalmah, Bal-Sagoth, and Slough Feg, including slots on festivals such as Chicago Powerfest, Heathen Crusade, and the travelling Pagan Fest. Gwynbleidd has also performed with the Ballet Deviare dance company (which counts Opeth, My Dying Bride, and Arsis amongst its other musical collaborators.)

The tracklisting for Gwynbleidd's "Nostalgia" is as follows:

1. Nostalgia
2. Egress
3. New Setting
4. Stormcalling
5. Adrift
6. Thawing Innocence
7. Stare Into The Sun
8. Canvas For Departure

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

5 Comments on "Metalunderground.com Premieres New Gwynbleidd Song"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

deathbringer's avatar

Founder, owner & programmer

1. deathbringer writes:

Hey guys, this is the first time I've used this audio widget. Please let me know if you have problems with either it or the playback. The MP3 is very high quality, so if you have issues with it streaming properly or the like, let me know (and let me know where you're located and why speed/type of internet connection you have). Thanks - we hope to bring you many more exclusive premieres such as this one.

# Oct 15, 2009 @ 1:27 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
deathfreak's avatar


2. deathfreak writes:

cool glad to see MU getting more props. The more exclusives the better

# Oct 15, 2009 @ 9:40 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
3. Marduk writes:

Hey DB I am in Sydney, Australia and on a broadband connection had absolutely no problems streaming the entire song. Pretty fukking cool song too...

# Oct 15, 2009 @ 10:46 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
LordAssenfroth's avatar


4. LordAssenfroth writes:

sounds great! the quality is pretty good and no streaming problems from texas.

# Oct 16, 2009 @ 9:41 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
nirvanavt39's avatar


5. nirvanavt39 writes:

Thawing Innocence - great song i like it!

# Oct 27, 2009 @ 5:02 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.