"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Keel Signs To Frontiers Records, Plans New Album For 2010

Photo of Quiet Riot

Band Photo: Quiet Riot (?)

Frontiers Records has announced the signing of KEEL for the release of a brand new studio album in early 2010.

In 1985 KEEL exploded onto the hard rock scene with “The Right To Rock,” the fastest-selling debut album in A&M Records’ history. That disc and its successor “The Final Frontier” were both produced by Gene Simmons of KISS. KEEL sold over two million albums and toured with/opened for icons such as Bon Jovi, Motley Crue, Van Halen, and Aerosmith, winning Best New Band honors in publications such as Circus, Metal Edge and Hit Parader. Radio and MTV hits include “The Right To Rock,” “Tears Of Fire,” “Because The Night,” “Somebody’s Waiting,” and “Rock N Roll Outlaw.”

The band announced their reunion last November, and enjoyed appearances at major summer festivals such as Rocklahoma, South Texas Rock Festival, the Mid West Rock Fest, and the M3 Rock Festival in Maryland, in addition to sold-out headline shows in Hollywood and Phoenix. The energy and excitement of these tour dates spawned a surge of creative activity, resulting in an album's worth of new material. This album, entitled "Streets Of Rock & Roll," will be the first new KEEL recording in twenty years.

The project is being produced by Pat Regan (Deep Purple, KISS, Warrant etc.) and will feature guest appearances by Jaime St. James (Black N Blue) and Paul Shortino (Rough Cutt, Quiet Riot) who is also producing and recording Ron's lead vocal sessions.

Frontiers Records will also release "The Right To Rock: 25th Anniversary Edition," exactly 25 years after this classic album first hit the streets. This official reissue will be digitally remastered and will feature a brand new recorded version of the title track, which is even louder and heavier than the original. "The Right To Rock (Reunion Version)" features an all-star vocal chorus, and the band is also inviting fans everywhere to sing on the track: you can download a sample chorus on KEEL's MySpace, add your voice to the mix, send the band an MP3, and these will be mixed in to the actual recording of this timeless classic. For details, visit the KEEL web site and the KEEL MySpace.

Song titles that will be included on the forthcoming new studio release are (in no particular order) include: "Hit The Ground Running," "Come Hell Or High Water," "Streets Of Rock & Roll," "Push & Pull," "Live," "Brothers In Blood," "The Devil May Care," "Looking For A Good Time," "No More Lonely Nights," "Hold Steady," "Does Anybody Believe," "Gimme That," "Reason To Rock (Reunion Version)."

KEEL 2009 lineup includes Ron Keel on vocals, guitarists Marc Ferrari and Bryan Jay, drummer Dwain Miller along with long time Ron Keel collaborator Geno Arce on bass.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Keel Signs To Frontiers Records"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.