"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Lord Taps Dio and Megadeth Members For New Album, "Set In Stone"

Photo of Megadeth

Band Photo: Megadeth (?)

Aussie metallers LORD have revealed the guest musician list of their forthcoming album 'Set In Stone' features members of DIO, ANGRA, HAREM SCAREM, DRAGONLAND, ex-members of MEGADETH and KING DIAMOND and a host of other Australian and international guests.

Commented mainman Lord Tim, "We're absolutely thrilled to finally reveal the special guests we have on our new album. Of the international guests, we have Craig Goldy (DIO), Glen Drover (ex-MEGADETH/ex-KING DIAMOND), Pete Lesperance (HAREM SCAREM/FAIRGROUND), Felipe Andreoli (ANGRA), Olof Morck (DRAGONLAND/AMARANTHE/NIGHTRAGE) and Yoshiyasu Maruyama (ARGUMENT SOUL). From Australia, we have Chris Brooks (solo artist who did guest guitars on our last album ‘Ascendence’), Stu Marshall (PAIN DIVISION/ex-DUNGEON), Chris Porcianko (VANISHING POINT), Juz (ex-DUNGEON), Richie Hausberger (ex-ENTER TWILIGHT), Tania Moran (solo pop artist), and Mark Furze (FALCON ROAD/well-known star of Australian television). Yep, that's a hell of a list! Don't worry, we still left some room on there for actual members of LORD too! The cover art once again was handled by Felipe Machado Franco who was behind the artwork for ICED EARTH, BLAZE BAYLEY, AXEL RUDI PELL, and many more."

"We're also proud to announce we have inked a distribution deal with Australia's leading independent rock label Riot! who recently signed International deals with FREE REIGN (featuring 3 members of the Dallas Cowboys), and FOZZY (Featuring WWE Wrestling Superstar Chris Jericho), as well as being the Australian distributor of labels like Nuclear Blast, Metal Blade, Earache, SPV, Frontiers among others, so we're in pretty fine company! Riot have been making huge inroads on the international scene so we see this as an extra advantage. The album will be out Australia-wide in late August. We've also renewed our deal with Soundholic Records in Japan for an October release. Release dates for the rest of the world will be announced soon."

"If all that wasn't enough, we're also off on tour again starting late August which will take us around Australia once again and finally, after a very long hiatus, we return to Japan for three shows. We can not wait for that, it's been far too long! The LORD website has just been revamped too, so all of the latest information about 'Set In Stone' and all of our upcoming tour dates can be found on there. It's shaping up to be a mighty big year - bring it on!"

“It is with great pleasure to finally get to work with Lord Tim and the boys. Its something I have really been wanting to do for a long time now, and the opportunity finally arose” said Riot’s John Howarth. “The new material is incredibly strong and without a doubt their best yet. We really want to help push LORD to the next level both here and overseas. The potential is there and they are one of the most hardworking bands there are, you can’t deny their work ethic and will to succeed. Other bands should note just how hard these guys go at it! These are exciting times!”

Lord Tim previously stated, "Every artist says their new album will be their best work yet, but in this case rather than saying that, I would describe this as not necessarily better than our last album, but more so this is more true to what LORD is about; the definitive LORD album as it were. If I were to draw comparisons between LORD and DUNGEON [the band that spawned LORD when it disbanded in 2005], 'Ascendence' would be the equivalent of the 'Resurrection' album, and 'Set In Stone' would be the equivalent of 'A Rise To Power' - the album where most people would agree DUNGEON really hit its stride."

The tracklisting for "Set In Stone" is as follows:

1. Spectres Of The Ascendant
2. Redemption
3. 100 Reasons
4. Eternal Storm
5. Set In Stone
6. Someone Else's Dream
7. Forever
8. Beyond The Light
9. The End Of Days
10. Be My Guest
11. New Horizons

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Lord Taps Dio and Megadeth Members For New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.