"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Stryper's "Murder By Pride" Gets European Release Date

Frontiers Records has signed Christian hard rockers STRYPER for the European release of the band's brand new album "Murder By Pride," due on August 28, 2009. The album is to be released on July 21, 2009 in North America.

Formed in 1983, the band released five studio albums before disbanding in February 1992. Singer Michael Sweet pursued a solo career, while the other members have kept on working together, until Stryper came back in the original line up during 2005, releasing the acclaimed new album entitled "Reborn".

In the past few years singer Michael Sweet started to cooperate with Boston and the result of this is a stunning recording of the classic song "Peace of Mind" on the brand new album "Murder By Pride," which sees none other than Tom Scholz guesting on guitar.

"I got the idea of the title 'Murder By Pride' from seeing pride consume dreams, goals and many times, lives" continues Sweet "We all deal with pride and it can be crippling, so I wanted to write a lyric and a theme that would be a constant reminder of that. This record has been in the works for a long, long time and I can only hope that it was worth the wait!"

The "Murder By Pride" European tracklisting includes the following songs:

1. Eclipse Of The Son
2. 4 Leaf Clover
3. Peace Of Mind
4. Alive
5. The Plan
6. Murder By Pride
7. I Believe
8. Run In You
9. Love Is Why
10. Mercy Over Blame
11. Everything
12. My Love (I’ll Always Show)
13. My Love, My Life, My Flame (Exclusive Bonus Track for Europe)

Some of the tracks can be now heard in streaming on the band's MySpace player.

Stryper have also already confirmed some live appearances in Europe in early 2010, which will be followed by more dates which are currently being worked out. Stryper is now comprised of Michael Sweet (vocals, guitar), Oz Fox (lead guitar), Tracy Ferrie (baass guitar) and Robert Sweet (drums).

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Stryper's 'Murder By Pride' Gets Euro Release Date"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

wilco's avatar


1. wilco writes:

ha i do like stryper
will get there new album

# Jun 20, 2009 @ 11:04 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.