"some music was meant to stay underground..."

70000 Tons of Metal - The World's Biggest Heavy Metal Cruise

Dark Tranquillity to Re-release Older Albums + Demo Compilation

Photo of Dark Tranquillity

Band Photo: Dark Tranquillity (?)

Swedish melodic death metal masters Dark Tranquillity will re-release their classic albums “Projector,” “Haven” and “Damage Done” in a slipcase packaging with bonus material, as well as the rarities compilation “Yesterworlds,” on May 25, 2009 in Europe via Century Media Records. All releases are available at a fan-friendly price and also feature extensive liner notes as well as new layouts and designs by guitarist Niklas Sundin. As a very exclusive bonus the three album reissues also contain one song each from the band’s upcoming new DVD “Where Death Is Most Alive” due later this year. The band comments as follows:

“We're happy to announce that 'Projector' (1999), 'Haven' (2000) and 'Damage Done' (2002) will be re-issued with additional bonus content. As with the 'Fiction' re-issue of last year, these new editions feature all the material that was recorded during the respective studio sessions, giving the listener the full experience of what was put on tape at the time.

"In addition, we're releasing a limited edition album entitled 'Yesterworlds,' featuring the 'Trail Of Life Decayed' demo (1991) and the 'A Moonclad Reflection' 7" EP (1992).

"The real gem, however, is that the master tape of an old promo recording that was made in March 1994 and only sent out to a handful of tape trading contacts and record labels. This is the first D.T. studio recording with Mikael Stanne on vocals and Fredrik Johansson on guitar, and it features 'Punish My Heaven,' 'The Gallery' and 'Away, Delight, Away.' Also, 'Yesterworlds' features a version of 'Punish My Heaven' taken from the semi-legendary 'W.A.R. Compilation Vol. 1' album, originally released on Wrong Again Records in 1994. This is the first recording we made in Studio Fredman, and the song itself is a bit faster and less controlled than the album version found on 'The Gallery.'"

These new versions feature brand new layouts and extensive liner notes from the band members. Tracklistings are as follows:

Projector (68:41)
1. FreeCard
2. ThereIn
3. UnDo Control
4. Auctioned
5. To A Bitter Halt
6. The Sun Fired Blanks
7. Nether Novas
8. Day To End
9. Dobermann
10. On Your Time
Bonus Tracks:
11. Asleep In The Bandaged Light *
12. No One **
13. Exposure **
14. ThereIn (live) ***
* previously unreleased
** taken from the “Exposures – In Retrospect And Denial” album
*** previously unreleased live track, taken from the upcoming “Where Death Is Most Alive” DVD

Haven (59:00)
1. The Wonders At Your Feet
2. Not Built To Last
3. Indifferent Suns
4. Feast Of Burden
5. Haven
6. The Same
7. Fabric
8. Ego Drama
9. Rundown
10. Emptier Still
11. At Loss For Words
Bonus Tracks:
12. In Sight *
13. Misery In Me *
14. Cornered *
15. The Wonders At Your Feet (live) **
* taken from the “Exposures – In Retrospect And Denial” album
** previously unreleased live track, taken from the upcoming “Where Death Is Most Alive” DVD

Damage Done (59:41)
1. Final Resistance
2. Hours Passed in Exile
3. Monochromatic Stains
4. Single Part of Two
5. The Treason Wall
6. Format C: for Cortex
7. Damage Done
8. Cathode Ray Sunshine
9. The Enemy
10. White Noise / Black Silence
11. Ex Nihilo
Bonus Tracks:
12. I, Deception *
13. Static **
14. The Poison Well **
15. The Treason Wall (live) ***
* taken from the limited Digipak version of “Damage Done”
** taken from the “Exposures – In Retrospect And Denial” album
*** previously unreleased live track, taken from the upcoming “Where Death Is Most Alive” DVD

Yesterworlds (52:53)
1. Midwinter (Intro) *
2. Beyond Enlightenment *
3. Vernal Awakening *
4. Void of Tranquillity *
5. Unfurled By Dawn **
6. Yesterworld **
7. Punish My Heaven (demo version) ***
8. Away, Delight, Away (demo version) ***
9. The Gallery (demo version) ***
10. Punish My Heaven (alternative version) ****
* taken from the “Trail Of Life Decayed” demo
** taken from the “A Moonclad Reflection” 7inch EP
*** previously unreleased tracks
**** taken from the “W.A.R.” compilation

Dark Tranquillity will also play several festivals this summer. Dates are as follows:

Jun. 27 Zaragosa, Spain - Metalway Festival
Jul. 4 Münster, Germany - Vainstream Rockfest
Jul. 11 Ballenstedt, Germany - Rock Harz Festival
Jul. 17 Spital am Semmering, Austria - Kaltenbach Open Air
Aug. 8 Aveiro, Portugal - Vagos Open Air
Sept. 5 Osnabrück, Germany - Hellflame Festival
Sept. 26 Zagreb, Croatia - Zagreb Metal Fest
Oct. 24 Lichtenfels, Germany - Hellflame Festival

Source: Century Media

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Dark Tranquillity to Re-release Older Albums"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. FearTheReaper writes:

How about some NEW album information???

# Apr 30, 2009 @ 8:44 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.