"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Manatees Reveals New Album, "Icarus, The Sunclimber," Details

Carlise, UK based psychedelic sludge heavyweights Manatees have revealed that their new album will be titled "Icarus, The Sunclimber."

Laced with feedback and noise, "Icarus, The Sunclimber" is far darker and bleaker than their previous release, "We Are Going To Track Down And Kill Vintage Claytahh, The Beard Burning Bastard," a recording that saw them collaborate with Oxbow front man Eugene Robinson. Yet, on "Icarus..." Manatees perfectly displays their ability to mix crushing heaviness with sublime introspective ambience.

Speaking to Rock Sound magazine recently, bassist/vocalist Alex Macarte said:

"Volume is a big thing for us, we love being able to feel the music as well as hear it."

Capturing the raw, stripped down intensity of their live show, this is a record that for which maximum volume is a must.

Here is the tracklisting for "Icarus, The Sunclimber":

1. Of Wax & Wing (01.53)
2. The Sunclimber (15:21)
3. Hyperion Altitude (04:09)
4. Untitled (04:40)
5. False Sun (6:53)
6. Out Of The Sky, Into The gutter (12:15)

You can check out the cover art here.

A strictly limited edition package containing a deluxe digipak with metallic print, t-shirt, pin badges and art print is available to pre-order now exclusively from Eyesofsound.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Manatees Reveals New Album Details"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.