"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Leathermouth Sets Release Date For Debut Album

Photo of My Chemical Romance

Band Photo: My Chemical Romance (?)

New Jersey hardcore group LEATHERMOUTH, who recently signed to Epitaph Records, will release their debut album, "XO," on January 27, 2009.

In 2007, Iero, guitarist of the hugely popular band My Chemical Romance, reached his tipping point and created LEATHERMOUTH with Rob Hughes, a friend from Iero's home state of New Jersey.

"I think there is a void of bands that are outspoken on things that actually matter," explains Iero. "There's too much bad hair and white belts. Sometimes it nice to turn your brain off and just listen to someone sing about girls. I'm not knocking it. I do think there is a time and a place. But LeATHERMOUTH isn't like that...it's about hate. Hate that boils up inside and eats away at you, if you don't vomit it up you know it will eventually destroy you."

"I would say this record is about trying to wake people up to what is happening right in front of their eyes," Iero continues. "We are all trying our hardest to pretend bad things don't happen to good people, and that there is some higher power looking over us...but it's bullshit. Stop covering your children's eyes. Everything is fucked, and pretending it's not isn't making things any better. I'm tired of people praying for a change when it's up to them to get off their asses and make a change."

LeATHERMOUTH will be touring sporadically in support of "XO" in 2009, in between Frank's duties to My Chemical Romance.

Here is the "XO" tracklisting:

1. 5th Period Massacre
2. Catch Me If You Can
3. This Song Is About Being Attacked By Monsters
4. I Am Going To Kill The President Of The United States Of America
5. Murder Was The Case That They Gave Me
6. Sunsets Are For Muggings
7. My Lovenote Has Gone Flat
8. Your Friends Are Full Of Shit
9. Bodysnatchers 4 Ever
10. Leviathan

Here are the latest LeATHERMOUTH tour dates:

12/4 – The Station – Portland, ME
12/5 – Lupo's Heartbreak Hotel – Providence, RI
12/6 – Starland Ballroom – Sayerville, NJ
12/7 – Toad's Place – New Haven, CT

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Leathermouth Sets Release Date For Debut Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Nacha writes:

perfect, they're an amazing band dude, i cant wait till january 27.

# Dec 4, 2008 @ 7:00 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Anonymous Reader
2. cwxwwwxwwxwx writes:

well, hi admin adn people nice forum indeed. how's life? hope it's introduce branch ;)

# Dec 24, 2008 @ 11:56 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.