"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Sweet Cobra Signs To Black Market Activities

Black Market Activities has announcesd the addition of Sweet Cobra to its roster. The band's Hawthorne Street Records release, "Forever," will be reissued through Black Market Activities on June 24.

Sweet Cobra will play day two of "Dudefest" in Indianapolis on June 21 at Zanies Too.

"An admiration for '70s inspired groove rock and remnants of a hardcore driven past brewed the foundation for Sweet Cobra," states the press release. "The mind-boggling grooves and sludgy, down-trodden guitar riffs make avoiding toe-tapping nearly inescapable. Driven by murky grooves, Sweet Cobra incorporates the disgruntled fervor of hardcore as the finishing touch."

Sweet Cobra formed in 2002 with drummer Jason Gagovski (Suicide Note) and vocalist/bassist Botchy Vasquez (The Killer, Challenger). Guitarists Robert Lanham and Matt Arluck later joined on to complete the line up. The band made its debut on Seventh Rule Recordings with "Praise," introducing Sweet Cobra's boundary defying sound. Picking up where "Praise" left off is 2007's "Forever," originally released through Hawthorne Street Records. "Forever" offers eight songs, encompassing a similar reefer madness, with production by Greg Norman (Pelican, Russian Circles) and mixed by Sanford Parker (Minsk, Buried at Sea) at Volume Studios.

Sweet Cobra has shared the stage with Mastodon, Pelican, Converge, High on Fire, Isis, Coalesce and many, many more.

You can check out some of Sweet Cobra's material on the band's Myspace page.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Sweet Cobra Signs To Black Market Activities"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.