"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Memoira Signs To Nightmare Records

Nightmare Records has announced the signing of MEMOIRA, a young female-fronted Finnish band playing "epic melancholic metal" that has progressive and gothic orchestral parts, carrying on in the fashon of bands such as Nightwish, Epica, Kamelot, Within Temptation, Evanescence, Lacuna Coil.

MEMOIRA is known for it’s strong melancholic melodies and heavy guitar walls, and began it’s journey in the beginning of 2007, originally formed by the two guitarists Jani Haanpää and Marko Heurlin in 2001. They gathered together a group of various musicians who had played in different bands. Memoira went to studio to work on first album in the end of 2007 and in the beginning of 2008 started to work with Lance King (known for best for his work as vocalist of BALANCE OF POWER, PYRAMAZE and most recently of AVIAN & KRUCIBLE ) as an executive producer naturally leading to their new full length debut "SELF TITLED" release with Lance's label Nightmare Records.

Memoira's new album is set for a release of August 19, 2008. The tracklisting is as follows:

1. Arise
2. Experimenters Farewell
3. Haunted
4. Destiny Of Yours
5. Incurable
6. Shadow On My Name
7. Half Alive
8. Liberation
9. Amortization

You can check out some of the band's material on their MySpace page in the meantime.

The band has a few live shows scheduled as well. They are as follows:

31 May 2008 22:30 Pori On The Rocks - Cafe Jazz Pori, Finland
07 June 2008 23:00 Haarikka Honkajoki, Finland
16 August 2008 23:00 Nightclub Vaakuna Pori, Finland
04 October 2008 15:00 Eetunaukio Pori, Finland
17 October 2008 23:00 Bar Monttu Pori, Finland

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Memoira Signs To Nightmare Records"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Peter Wolf writes:

Having heard a couple of tracks, it's good to have something fresh, with an excellent voice,
gothic, hard rock, a little death metal, and melodic all in one a gem. Cannot wait fir it's release in

# May 28, 2008 @ 6:40 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.