"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Mongrel Readies "Fear, Lies, And Propaganda" For Re-Release

Photo of Mongrel

Band Photo: Mongrel (?)

Freshly signed to Screaming Ferret Wreckords, Mongrel, made up by singer Drew Barker, guitarists Adam Savage and Andrew X, bassist Rev, and drummer Ed Loguercio, are aiming to leave their mark with a newly re-released version of their debut full-length, "Fear, Lies, and Propaganda."

"Recording 'Fear, Lies, and Propaganda' was a very busy but rewarding time," recalls the group's leader and main songwriter, Savage. "Mongrel doesn't really know how to take time off, so during the period of time we were recording, mixing, mastering, we were also playing 6-10 shows a month as well. Our nights off from shows more often than not meant an afternoon and/or evening in the studio to do some tracking, over-dubs, or mixing whenever the studio was available over a couple months time. The great thing was that despite the busy schedule, no matter who was at the studio on a given night doing some work we always were productive and had a lot of fun and a lot of laughs, including our engineer."

Mongrel's "Fear, Lies, and Propaganda" balances old school punk intensity and energy with hard rock hooks and riffs and also including elements of grunge and metal.

But the album is only part of the equation, as a Mongrel concert is certainly an unforgettable experience, admits Savage. "Once we're on stage, it's no holds barred with the always possible risk of injury with 4 people up front in near constant motion. It's high energy, intense, and fun, interactive with the crowd, we love it when the crowd sings along and allows us to feed off that energy between the performance and the people up front. Fans can expect a band that is always willing to hang out and chat because we're all music fans too and are always eager to talk to the bands that we love so it is very important for us to interact with anyone who wants to at our shows."

"We are looking to tour more extensively both here in the US and with any luck in Europe as well. We are looking to record and release our next full-length album within the next year, with most of it already written and tested out live. Continuing to build upon our strong work ethic and strong connection with our fans, spreading the word, getting more media exposure, and hopefully never resorting to using the cliche 'Our new album is heavier yet more melodic'."

Here is the complete tracklisting for "Fear, Lies, and Propaganda":

1. I Refuse
2. Who Would Jesus Destroy
3. Shut Your Mouth (Open Your Eyes)
4. The World Loves a Tragedy
5. Bound to Crash
6. Shut Up, Get Dead
7. West Memphis Hell
8. Houdini Act
9. Immolation
10. Attribution/Retribution
11. Watching Myself Die
12. Without Mercy
13. No Gods, No Masters
14. Dyslexic Alchemist (Fucked It All Away)
Bonus Track:
15. Coma America (AMEN cover)

You can check out some of Mongrel's material on their MySpace page.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Mongrel Readies Album For Re-Release"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. cppchriscpp writes:

Congrats to these guys... not really metal but they're an awesome band. I've seen em twice and am waiting to go again! The CD's well worth your money.

# May 16, 2008 @ 2:14 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.