"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Nevermore Frontman On New Material, Tour Plans And Politics

Photo of Nevermore

Band Photo: Nevermore (?)

Brave Words & Bloody Knuckles recently conducted an interview with Warrel Dane, frontman and vocalist for Nevermore. Dane talks about his upcoming solo album, "Praises to the War Machine," progress on the new Nevermore live DVD, writing for a new Nevermore album, plans to tour and more. Excerpts from the interview follow:

On taking his solo material on the road:

"I'm very committed to get this thing on the road. I'm working on new Nevermore material, but I can work on songs on the road. It's not going to be a problem writing the Nevermore stuff and touring at the same time. I'm going to do as much touring as I can possibly do for this because I'm so proud of this record and I just want to get it out there and play these songs live because I know they are going to translate well to a live show and I can hardly wait."

On the status of writing for new Nevermore material:

"I've got a lot of really strong song ideas from Jeff (Loomis - guitars) that I'm working on. At the moment he's working on an instrumental record. I'm not sure when he's going into the studio to work on it. It's going to be very soon though. Once he's done with that, we're going to go full-on focusing on Nevermore stuff. For the moment I have a bunch of stuff I can work on without Jeff. Everyone keeps asking me - 'with this solo record is Nevermore broken up?' Fuck no! There's no sticker on it that says 'there's no more Nevermore so deal with it.'"

The setlist for the band's upcoming live DVD, filmed at their October 11th, 2006 gig in Bochum, Germany is as follows: "Final Product", "My Acid Words", "What Tomorrow Knows/Garden Of Grey", "Next In Line", "Enemies Of Reality", "I, Voyager", "The River Dragon Has Come", "I Am The Dog", "Dreaming Neon Black", "Noumenon", "Inside Four Walls", "Politics Of Ecstasy", "Dead Heart In A Dead World", "Matricide", "The Learning", "Sentient 6", "Narcosynthesis", "The Heart Collector", "Born", "This Godless Endeavor". On the DVD, Warrel said:

"There's a company in Germany that's editing the whole thing right now. I'm going over to Germany in March to help because the first cut didn't turn out so great. The footage is good, but the first edit was bad. It was like an MTV video, not a live show. So I have to go over and fix the problem. There's been other issues in terms of getting it released that we are trying to get resolved and it's been a nightmare."

On the album cover for "Praises to the War Machine" and politics:

"It's like an apocalyptic scene with these two children that are standing naked in the middle of a battle-field with bombs dropping on them. And they are kind of waving at the bombs saying 'hi, how are you.' It's really creepy. The song itself has got a little more of a political bent to it. Not really personal. I mean the music sounded very angry and a little bit war-like. It's just kind of a statement about the current situation in the world where politicians are making money off of war. And to me that's just sickening and I had to vent. I'd like Dick Cheney to hear that song actually. It's certainly a moment in history when you have a black man and a woman up for the same job. That's something a few years ago I would have never imagined. No matter who gets the nomination it's going to be historic either way. So that's kind of interesting. I still have no clue who I'd vote for."

The tracklisting for Dane's solo album is as follows:

01 - When We Pray
02 - Messenger (featuring Jeff Loomis)
03 - Obey
04 - Lucretia My Reflection
05 - Let You Down (featuring Chris Broderick)
06 - August
07 - Your Chosen Misery/Feel Failure
08 - Praise To The Warmachine (featuring James Murphy)
09 - Brother
10 - Patterns
11 - This Old Man
12 - Aeon

Source: BW&BK

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Nevermore Frontman On New DVD And Solo Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.