"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Immortal Dominion Lands Five Songs In Horror/Comedy "Teeth"

Immortal Dominion will have five of their songs featured throughout the movie, "Teeth." After the band's distributor, Fist Music/Hapi Skratch Entertainment, hooked them up with the filmmakers, Immortal Dominion was asked to contribute a total of five songs to the soundtrack. The film won a juror's award for best actress at the Sundance Film Festival, and was then purchased by Lionsgate/The Weinstein Company. The film is due for release nationwide in February 2008 via Roadside Attractions, and is already drawing attention to Immortal Dominion, on the strength of the instantly memorable song, "Sold My Soul."

Formed in 1992 in Fort Collins, Colorado, Immortal Dominion is comprised of members Ray Smith (guitars/lead vocals), Brian Villers (guitars/vocals), Bryan (Edward) Schmidt (bass), and Ben Huntwork (drums/vocals). The group has issued two full-lengths ("Endure" and "Awakening - The Revelation") and an EP ("Birth"), and are hard at work on a new studio album, set to be released later this year. Additionally, Immortal Dominion are in talks with music video director Frank Nasso (who has previously worked with Mudvayne, Hatebreed, All That Remains for the "Saw III" soundtrack) about working on some clips for the songs that appear in "Teeth." With all these simultaneous projects, 2008 is quickly shaping up to be the year that Immortal Dominion break through to the metal masses, while "Awakening - the Revelation" is also still contributing to the buzz.

"This album is a soundtrack to one of the darkest periods we have ever been through as a band," recalls Villers, "Yet as we stayed tight with each other, and found new ways to collaborate in the songwriting process, we experienced an 'Awakening' as far as who we are as a band. We hope the listener feels the wide range of emotions we were experiencing as we compiled this material."

Here is the tracklisting for "Awakening - the Revelation":

1. Punishment
2. Will to Survive
3. Eat Your Flesh
4. Sold my Soul
5. World
6. Something to Change
7. Fear Free
8. Not Good
9. Awakening
10. Christian Witchcraft
11. Blasphemy
12. Untouchable
13. Shallows in the Vatican Darkness
14. The Other Side of Pain

You can check out some of the band's material on their MySpace.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Immortal Dominion Lands 5 Songs In Horror/Comedy"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. resident rock star writes:

if you have never heard of immortal dominion nows the time to start listening. this band is refreshing and unique in the most metal way possible

# Jan 20, 2008 @ 11:00 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.