"some music was meant to stay underground..."

AC/DC, Ozzy Osbourne Reveal New Sales Figures

Photo of Ozzy Osbourne

Band Photo: Ozzy Osbourne (?)

AC/DC's classic "Back in Black" album was certified 22-times-platinum on December 13, 2007 by the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) for sales in excess of 22 million copies in the United States.

As previously reported, "Plug Me In" — the ultimate career-spanning DVD box set of live performances, interviews and more from AC/DC — has been certified five-times-platinum by the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America). Released on October 16, "Plug Me In" debuted at #1 on the Billboard Top Music Video chart and #1 on the SoundScan Top DVD Music Videos chart.

"Plug Me In" — the first AC/DC release since the band came to Columbia Records earlier this year — debuted at #1 in 12 countries around the world, including the U.S., the UK, Australia, Canada, France, Spain, Sweden, Belgium, Denmark, Ireland, Finland, and New Zealand.

The compilation contains over five hours of live and television performances, many of them rare and previously unavailable until now. A limited edition of the set includes a third disc featuring 21 additional performances, along with reproductions of authentic AC/DC memorabilia.

AC/DC is scheduled to begin recording its first all-new album since 2000's "Stiff Upper Lip" at some point soon, although exact dates remain a mystery.

OZZY OSBOURNE's latest CD, "Black Rain", was certified gold on December 14, 2007 by the RIAA (Recording Industry Association of America) for shipments in excess of 500,000 copies in the United States.

"Black Rain" was reissued on November 20 as a "Special Limited-Edition Tour Package" featuring a bonus CD of live tracks and B-sides. The bonus CD includes the following cuts:

01. I Don't Wanna Stop (live)
02. Not Going Away (live)
03. Here For You (live)
04. Nightmare
05. Can't Save You
06. Love To Hate

In an interview with Australia's Herald Sun published last month, Ozzy Osbourne made it clear that he wasn't too happy about the effect of downloading on the music industry. He said, "I've been suffering terribly from people downloading ['Black Rain']. If they don't find something to stop it, people won't be able to make records. There won't be any new bands. How are they going to survive? I'm an old-timer, I've been doing it 40 years now, but new bands are going to suffer. It's ridiculous, you could be doing it for nothing. Sharon said I'd be astounded to find out how many bands are touring because you can download a record but you can't beat a rock show."

"Black Rain" was reissued in August by Epic in a new jewel-case package containing the full booklet with lyrics and new color cover art and photos. It also contains CD extra bonus content featuring behind-the-scenes footage from the "Black Rain" photo shoot.

"Black Rain", which originally came out on May 22, was released in "eco-friendly" packaging, with the CD sleeve made out of recycled paper. In addition, the record came out without a booklet to further save paper, with the lyrics, credits and other inside material available to buyers of the CD at SonyMusic.com.

"Black Rain" features several songs based on current events and the state of the world in general. But Osbourne told The Pulse of Radio that he hasn't turned into an "issues-oriented" artist. "Believe me, I've not suddenly woken up and I'm sane," he said. "But I'm not one of these guys that can write about boy-meets-girl and, I mean, it's got to mean something to me. I don't write all the lyrics, but I have to say, 'Well, you know, isn't that strange that that happened when this happened,' you know, and I'll get going, you know."

"Black Rain" debuted at No. 3 on the Billboard album chart, with first-week sales of 152,000 copies.

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "AC/DC, Ozzy Osbourne Reveal New Sales Figures"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. wrath5316 writes:


# Dec 29, 2007 @ 2:24 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.