"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Byzantine Announce Release Date For 'Oblivion Beckons'

West Virginia's forward-thinking thrashers BYZANTINE will release their new album, "Oblivion Beckons", on January 22, 2008 via Prosthetic Records. Two songs from the CD are available for streaming on the band's MySpace page. According to a press release, the tracks "Nadir" and "Expansion and Collapse" showcase "the wider range" that BYZANTINE has pursued on its newest release. The album's cover artwork was created by Donnie Searls, who also directed the band's "Jeremiad" video and the "Salvation" DVD.

Regarding the musical direction of "Oblivion Beckons", BYZANTINE frontman OJ Ojeda previously said, "We took a couple different paths on this one, stripping down some things like the vocals for a more aggressive style and then going out on a limb on some other things we have never tried before. This album is more varied than anything we have done prior and, clocking in at around an hour, should have more than enough metal for all our friends and fans."

"Oblivion Beckons" track listing (in alphabetical order):

01. Absolute Horizon
02. All Hail the Endtimes
03. A Residual Haunting
04. Catalyst
05. Centurion
06. Deep End of Nothing
07. Expansion and Collapse
08. Nadir
09. Oblivion Beckons
10. Pattern Recognition
11. Receiving End of Murder
12. The Gift of Discernment

"Oblivion Beckons" is the follow-up to 2005's "...And They Shall Take Up Serpents", which received critical acclaim for progressive song structures and thrash-oriented musicianship.

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Byzantine Announce Release Date For New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.