"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Down Announce Track Listing For New Album

DOWN — consisting of Philip Anselmo, Rex Brown, Pepper Keenan, Kirk Windstein and Jimmy Bower — is set to release "III - Over the Under" on September 25 through ILG/Warner Music Group.

In the summer of 2006, the band embarked on a six-week European headline tour with no opening band, no product, and strictly by word of mouth, proceeded to sell out all 21 shows. Inspired by the response, the band reconnected in New Orleans to begin work on its most ambitious record to date.

Having already tapped Warren Riker, who produced DOWN's second release, "II - A Bustle in Your Hedgerow", the band demoed some 18 songs in Nodferatu's Lair, Philip Anselmo's studio in the swamps of Folsom, LA, with engineer David "Puma" Troia. In February of 2007, the band commenced recording on their third and most committed record to date. Recorded in Los Angeles between February and July, with a Canadian tour with HEAVEN AND HELL thrown in just for good measure, 15 songs were ultimately cut for "Over the Under". The result is over 60 minutes of genre-defying music further solidifying their place at the forefront of heavy rock as only DOWN can do.

To chronicle the past five years leading up to the release of "III - Over the Under", Philip Anselmo will be placing periodic installments to be released over the course of the next month on the band's web sites leading up to the release of the record. This is Philip's personal communication to the band's loyal fan base and gives a first-hand account the tragedy, isolation, rebirth and ultimate triumph of one of the most important band's of our time. The first installment will appear on August 17 on www.down-nola.com and www.myspace.com/downnola.

"III - Over the Under" track listing:

01. 3 Suns And 1 Star
02. The Path
03. N.O.D
04. I Scream
05. On March The Saints
06. Never Try
07. Mourn
08. Beneath The Tides
09. His Majesty The Desert
10. Pillamyd
11. In The Thrall Of It All
12. Nothing In Return (Walk Away)

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Down Announce Track Listing For New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Kick Ass Duke writes:

They played "I Scream" in when I saw them a few months ago in NYC. It sounded pretty good, well, as good as hearing a new song for the first time from a live performance. But Phil was right on and I think this new album has potential.

Now Playing: Megadeth - My Last Words

# Aug 15, 2007 @ 1:42 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.