"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Zoroaster Complete Work On New Album

Thundering power-doom trio ZOROASTER has completed work on its debut full-length, entitled "Dog Magic". The album is set for a September 11, 2007 release date via Terminal Doom / Battle Kommand Records (by way of Southern Lord).

Summoned by the mighty sludge of MELVINS, the mysticism of CELTIC FROST and the nihilistic blues of EYEHATEGOD, ZOROASTER formed in Atlanta, GA in 2003 out of the need for "sedation by high volumes and low frequencies." In 2005, the band released their first recorded music, which quickly drew the attention of uber-kvlt underground label Battle Kommand Records, which released the tracks as the band's eponymous debut EP soon after.

"Dog Magic" pushes ZOROASTER's deafening sound to powerful new highs and spectral, heavy lows. The addition of left-of-center instrumentation (including Moog synths, theremins, ominous vocal choirs and a brass section to boot) allows "Dog Magic" to simultaneously crush, swing and spook, seducing primal urges while inducing dark dreams of a David Lynch-ian world. Creating devastating, dirge-ridden doom that erupts into bludgeoning grooves and transcendental musical atmospheres, ZOROASTER's sound has been compared to "having 10,000 ton granite slabs dropped on your head from a height of several miles". A sneak peak at the "Dog Magic" cover art can be accessed at this location.

When asked to comment on "Dog Magic", ZOROASTER guitarist/vocalist Will Fiore states, "The new album incorporates many more elements into the ZOROASTER sound. Being on the road as much as we have over the course of the last few years has helped us continue to evolve as a band and our ideas and sound have been fully realized. Prepare."

"Dog Magic" track listing:

01. The Book
02. Brazen Bull
03. Tualatin
04. Terminally Charged
05. Algebra of Need
06. Dog Magic

The twisting, thirteen minute track "Tualatin" from "Dog Magic" has been unveiled and posted online at this location.

ZOROASTER features a live show that has been described as "an obliteration of the senses," earning the three piece the title of "Atlanta's loudest band." The trio has toured relentlessly across the U.S., sharing the stage with a diverse array of artists including BIG BUSINESS, NACHTMYSTIUM, HIGH ON FIRE, OXBOW, SAVIOURS and BASTARD NOISE. The band has announced U.S. tour dates in support of the new album and will remain on the road for the remainder of the year.

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

0 Comments on "Zoroaster Complete Work On New Album"

Be the first to comment! Tell us what you think. (no login required)

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.