"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Queensryche "Best Of" Tracklisting Announced

In a career that spans nearly 25 years, QUEENSRŸCHE has released 15 albums that have sold more than 20 million units around the world. On August 28, Capitol/EMI will release "Sign Of The Times: The Best Of Queensrÿche" in CD, 2-CD Collectors Edition packages and digitally. The new career-spanning hits collection features 17 of QUEENSRŸCHE's best singles and album tracks, including seven Top 10 mainstream rock hits, packaged in a jewel-case with a sixteen-page booklet featuring custom artwork, a discography, and track notes from the band's singer, Geoff Tate. The Collectors Edition, presented in deluxe digipak packaging, adds a second disc of 15 rare and previously unreleased demos, outtakes, remixes, live recordings, television performance audio, recordings for soundtracks and a new, never-before-heard song making its release debut on this collection.

"In an era that valued style over substance, QUEENSRŸCHE emerged as a contrary force to the happy-go-lucky sounds of hard rock in the late '80s and early '90s," explains Paul Gargano in his "Sign Of The Times" liner notes essay. "In hindsight, one might even go as far as to say that the band succeeded despite themselves. Whether knowingly or not, they zigged when the industry zagged, progressed while the scene regressed, and offered provocation while others opted for escapism. There's a subtle irony, then, that their best-of collection is called 'Sign Of The Times'."

Among "Sign Of The Times: The Best Of Queensrÿche"'s 17 hits and favorites are the #1 smash "Silent Lucidity", "Jet City Woman", "Eyes Of A Stranger", and "Another Rainy Night (Without You)", and more than a dozen other well-known songs. The 15 tracks on the Collectors Edition's rarities disc include three demo recordings by MYTH (lead vocalist Geoff Tate's band prior to QUEENSRŸCHE), three demo recordings from "The Warning", three bonus tracks from the reissued "Empire" album, bonus tracks from the reissued "Promised Land" and "Q2K" albums, an intoxicating live version of "Silent Lucidity", a previously unreleased version of "Della Brown" recorded for "MTV Unplugged", and a new track making its release debut, "Justified", recorded with original QUEENSRŸCHE guitarist Chris DeGarmo.

Beginning September 5 in Binghamton, New York, QUEENSRŸCHE and ALICE COOPER will join Ronnie James Dio, Tony Iommi, Geezer Butler and Vinny Appice on the HEAVEN AND HELL Tour for a U.S. trek that is expected to continue through early November.

"Sign Of The Times: The Best Of Queensrÿche" (CD & Digital Album) features the following tracklisting:

01. Queen Of The Reich
02. Warning
03. Walk In The Shadows
04. Take Hold Of The Flame
05. The Lady Wore Black
06. I Don't Believe In Love
07. Eyes Of A Stranger
08. Silent Lucidity
09. Bridge
10. Jet City Woman
11. Another Rainy Night (Without You)
12. Sign Of The Times
13. I Am I
14. Real World
15. Some People Fly
16. Until There Was You
17. All The Promises

"Sign Of The Times: The Best Of Queensrÿche" (2-CD Collectors Edition) (Contains Disc 1 + 2nd Disc of Rarities)

Disc 2:

01. Take Hold Of The Flame (MYTH; Original Demo Version) (previously unreleased)
02. Walk In The Shadows (MYTH; Original Demo Version) (previously unreleased)
03. Before The Storm (MYTH; Original Demo Version) (previously unreleased)
04. Waiting For The Kill (previously unreleased: demo for "The Warning")
05. No Sanctuary (previously unreleased: demo for "The Warning")
06. Prophecy (previously unreleased: demo for "The Warning")
07. I Dream In Infrared (1991 acoustic remix: bonus track from the reissued version of the album "Rage For Order")
08. Dirty Lil Secret (bonus track from the reissued version of the album "Empire")
09. Last Time In Paris (from the soundtrack album "The Adventures Of Ford Fairlane"; also a bonus track from the reissued version of the album "Empire")
10. Scarborough Fair (bonus track from the reissued version of the album "Empire")
11. Della Brown (previously unreleased: "MTV Unplugged," New York, NY 4/27/92)
12. Someone Else? (with full band: bonus track from the reissued version of the album "Promised Land")
13. Silent Lucidity (live at The Astoria Theatre, London 10/20/94: from the "Bridge" CD single)
14. Chasing Blue Sky (bonus track from the reissued album "Hear In The Now Frontier")
15. Justified (new track)

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

2 Comments on "Queensryche 'Best Of' Tracklisting Announced"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

stricken980's avatar


1. stricken980 writes:

Queensryche f 'n ROCKS!!!!!!!!
You'll see me at the tour for sure!

# Jul 10, 2007 @ 5:32 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Diamond Oz's avatar

Senior News Correspondent

2. Diamond Oz writes:

I like the studio stuff but could not get into them when I saw them live at all. My mate actually laid down on the floor and went to sleep.

# Jul 10, 2007 @ 5:40 PM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.