"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Alcest Album To Get North American Release via Profound Lore Productions

Profound Lore Productions has announced that they will be releasing the North American edition of the new album from France’s ALCEST, ‘Souvenirs D’un Autre Monde.’ The label goes on to describe the deal and Alcest's debut full-length album:

"In co-operation with Prophecy Productions, Alcest has been a band that we’ve been quite obsessed (and that’s lightly putting it) with for the last while, especially considering we’re great admirers of pretty much anything sole-mastermind and multi-instrumentalist Neige is involved in (be it in PESTE NOIRE, MORTIFERA, and more recently the wonder known as AMESOEURS)."

"Nevertheless, with Neige being one of the most accomplished musicians within France’s black metal scene, he has already made an immense impression with Alcest from the first demo (which was pretty much nestled in black metal and was Neige’s first plunge into the genre likewise), to the magnificent debut EP ‘Le Secret’."

"Although ‘Souvenirs D’un Autre Monde’, Alcest’s long-awaited debut full-length, treads much further from Alcest’s black metal origins, the pure expression that has defined Alcest - and Neige as a musician - flourishes in full-force with this moving and emotionally driven work. To listen to ‘Souvenirs D’un Autre Monde’ (which translates into Memories Of Another World) is to experience a world free of pain, darkness, and despair, and to enter a kingdom of beauty and harmony. The scenario that such an album paints is one where pure joy and happiness triumph through waves of intense cascading light, where innocence prevails, and where the longing for nostalgia reigns supreme. The best way to describe ‘Souvenirs D’un Autre Monde’: overwhelming."

The tracklisting for “Souvenirs D’un Autre Monde” is as follows:

1. Printemps Emeraude
2. Sounvenirs D'un Autre Monde
3. Les Iris
4. Ciel Errant
5. Sur L'autre Rive Je T'attendrai
6. Tir Nan Og

Look for ‘Souvenirs D’un Autre Monde’ to be released in North America early-mid August.

You can hear some material from the band's forthcoming album on their MySpace page and/or download and MP3 of the track "Souvenirs D'un Autre Monde" here.

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

3 Comments on "Alcest Album To Get N. American Release"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. Maikeru writes:

This is good news but I really want some more Amesoeurs. I hope they do a full length or something of that nature as their next release.

# Jun 7, 2007 @ 9:29 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

2. Cynic writes:

Interesting band, more akin to Mogwai than Mutiilation but a solid French effort no less.

Now Playing: Tankard - "Land Of The Free"

# Jun 8, 2007 @ 6:25 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address
Cynic's avatar

Senior Reviewer

3. Cynic writes:

Hmm, actually I've just heard abit more of Amesoeurs and have been listening to Alcest alot more and I now decree you should kill to hear this band. Especially if you're a Burzum fan, or a fan of any atmospheric music, the aforementioned Mogwai included strangely enough. Not sure if can get an import of this CD but here's hoping, this is the true underground. Thanks MU for another great find.

Now Playing: Amesoeurs - "Ruines Humaines"

# Jun 9, 2007 @ 4:34 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.