"some music was meant to stay underground..."

Byzantine Finishes Laying Tracks On New Album

West Virginia's forward-thinking thrashers BYZANTINE have completed tracking for the band's forthcoming record, "Oblivion Beckons", which will see a September release through Prosthetic Records.

"Well, after 4 months of holing ourselves up in the studio at 101 Productions, only taking a break to hit the road with GOD FORBID on the Chains of Humanity tour, we have finally finished recording the tracks for our third album, 'Oblivion Beckons'," frontman OJ Ojeda says. "I finished my last vocal track last night and I am happy as hell with the sounds we have going and the ideas we came up with this time around. We took a couple different paths on this one, stripping down some things like the vocals for a more aggressive style and then going out on a limb on some other things we have never tried before. This album is more varied than anything we have done prior and, clocking in at around an hour, should have more than enough metal for all our friends and fans. This week, [drummer] Wolfe, Aaron [Fischer, producer] and myself will trek up to Baltimore, Md. to Drew Mazurek's studio and mix this beast. Look out for a September release."

Song listing for "Oblivion Beckons" (in alphabetical order):

01. Absolute Horizon
02. All Hail the Endtimes
03. A Residual Haunting
04. Catalyst
05. Centurion
06. Deep End of Nothing
07. Expansion and Collapse (Renavatio)
08. Nadir
09. Oblivion Beckons
10. Pattern Recognition
11. Receiving End of Murder
12. The Gift of Discernment

"Oblivion Beckons" is the follow-up to 2005's "...And They Shall Take Up Serpents", which received critical acclaim for progressive song structures and thrash-oriented musicianship. BYZANTINE released the band's debut DVD, "Salvation", last month and features the exclusive unveiling of "Cradle Song", a never-before recorded track from early in the band's career. Only available on the DVD, "Cradle Song" will not appear on the forthcoming "Oblivion Beckons", and rounds out the DVD's tracking which also includes a live performance film, bootleg performances, behind the scenes footage, interviews and the music video for "Jeremiad", a track from "...And They Shall Take Up Serpents".

Source: Blabbermouth

What's Next?

Please share this article if you found it interesting.

1 Comment on "Byzantine Finishes Laying Tracks On New Album"

Post your comments and discuss the article below! (no login required)

Anonymous Reader
1. inhatredofme writes:

these guys f***in jam hard, check them out if you get a chance to make it to one of their shows.

# May 8, 2007 @ 12:17 AM ET | IP Logged Reveal posts originating from the same IP address

To minimize comment spam/abuse, you cannot post comments on articles over a month old. Please check the sidebar to the right or the related band pages for recent related news articles.